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CALIFORNIA BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICINE 
NOVEMBER 13, 2015 

SUBJECT:	 PROPOSED DRAFT LANGUAGE FOR REVISIONS TO BPM 
MANUAL OF DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES AND BOARD OF 
PODIATRIC MEDICINE REGULATION SECTION 1399.710 

ACTION:	 APPROVE: 

A. PROPOSED DRAFT LANGUAGE FOR REVISIONS TO BPM 

MANUAL OF DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES WITH MODEL 

DISCIPLINARY ORDERS; 

B. PROPOSED DRAFT LANGUAGE AMENDING PODIATRIC 

MEDICINE REGULATION 1399.710 AND ADDING 

REGULATORY SECTIONS 1399.711, 1399.712, 1399.713, 

1399.714, 1399.715 1388.716 INCORPORATING THE UNIFORM 

STANDARDS FOR SUBSTANCE-ABUSING HEALING ARTS 

LICENSEES; AND 

C. AUTHORIZING THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER TO MAKE ANY NON-

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES AND TO COMMENCE THE 

RULEMAKING PROCESS. 

RECOMMENDATION 

After review and discussion of the proposed revisions to the Board of Podiatric 
Medicine’s (“BPM”) current “Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines with Model Disciplinary 
Orders” and Podiatric Medicine Regulation 1399.710 incorporating the Uniform 
Standards for Substance-Abusing Healing Arts Licensees as mandated by SB 1441, 
approve and direct the Executive Officer to make any non-substantive changes and to 
initiate the regulatory process. 

ISSUES 

A. The Executive Officer must be authorized and directed to make any non-substantive 

changes to proposed regulatory revisions to section 1399.710 of the Podiatric 

Medicine Regulations incorporating the Uniform Standards for Substance-Abusing 

Healing Arts Licensees as required by SB 1441. 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 



 
              

 

 

     

 

      

    

 

 

  

    

    

   

  

 

    

 

      

 

    

 

  

  

 
 

 
        

  

           

    

     

 

 

    

        

 

  

  

 

    

     

     

    

  

B. Two (2) standard conditions recommended for application against probationers 

contained in the board’s current Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines and Model 

Disciplinary Orders may violate the due process rights of disciplined licensees if 

either is used as a term and condition of probation as recommended in Board 

settlement orders or decisions. 

C. Additional amendments to conditions 9, 10 and 11 are necessary to reflect changes 

to California Government Code section 11529 effective January 1, 2014, that 

extended the 15-day time frame for filing an accusation following the issuance of a 

suspension order to 30 days. These proposed revisions also provide clarification to 

both Administrative Law Judges and the Board that each has a 15-day deadline to 

issue a decision absent good cause. 

D. Revisions to conditions 18, 19 and 24 are proposed to eliminate reference to the 

Physician Assessment and Clinical Education Program at the University of 

California, San Diego School of Medicine in order to remove the appearance of 

government endorsement of one specific program over those of others that are 

available. In addition, the proposed amendment to condition 18 renames the 

program to “Clinical Competence Assessment Program” and strengthens the 

program requirements to conform to changes in the educational and probationary 

environments that strengthen consumer protection. 

BACKGROUND 

The background of issue A has been previously outlined in detail at the February 18th 

and May 20th Board of Podiatric Medicine (“BPM”) Enforcement Committee meetings 

and the March 6th and June 5th meetings of the full board. While the Board voted to a 

approve a motion for amending BPM model disciplinary guidelines and implementing 

the Uniform Standards, the Board must direct and authorize the Executive Officer to 

make any non-substantive changes and commence the rulemaking process. 

During this interim period however, it has recently come to staff’s attention that a 2008 

case out of the Third District Court of Appeal for the State of California has cast into 

question the legal soundness of two (2) standard conditions contained in the board’s 

current Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines and Model Disciplinary Orders recommended 

for application against probationers. 

Changes effective January 1, 2014 to California Government Code section 11529 allow 

accusations to be filed within 30-days after an interim order has been issued and 

required additional revisions to previously proposed language submitted to the Board 

covering conditions 9, 10 and 11 of the guidelines in order to reflect the requirements of 

the law appropriately. 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 
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DISCUSSION 

Uniform Standards 

As previously reported, the Medical Board of California (“MBC”) recently succeeded 

updating its regulations to include all the Uniform Standards as mandated by SB 1441. 

As previously outlined in reports to the Board on this matter, much of the proposed 

regulatory language contained herein mirrors the regulatory language recently and 

successfully passed by MBC.  BPM’s previous effort in 2011 to adopt desired regulatory 

language adding some but not all of the Uniform Standards did not succeed. It was 

therefore recommended at the June 5, 2015 BPM meeting that the board approve 

staff’s recommendation for amendments and revisions that would: 

1.	 Update the title of BPM’s manual of disciplinary guidelines and model 

disciplinary orders to “Manual of Model Disciplinary Orders and
 
Disciplinary Guidelines, 11th Edition/2015”;
 

2.	 Add proposed language to regulation 1399.710 after its title “Disciplinary
	
Guidelines” to include “and Uniform Standards for Substance Abusing
 
Licensees”;
	

3.	 Amend 1399.710 to include language that will clarify, among other minor 

revisions, that ”the Board shall use the Uniform Standards for Substance-

Abusing Licensees as provided in section 1399.711, without deviation, for 

each individual determined to be a substance-abusing licensee” to assure 

that the legislative intent for applying the Uniform Standards will be
 
followed; and
 

4.	 Add proposed regulatory provisions including sections 1399.711,
 
1399.712, 1399.713, 1399.714, 1399.715 and 1388.716 incorporating the
 
Uniform Standards for Substance-Abusing Healing Arts Licensees.
 

While the Board voted to approve staff’s recommendation for amending BPM model 

disciplinary guidelines and implementing the Uniform Standards at the June 5th meeting, 

the Board must direct and authorize the Executive Officer to make any non-substantive 

changes and commence the rulemaking process in order to ensure that the proposed 

package of regulatory changes is not rejected by the Office of Administrative Law. 

Due Process 

Due process considerations require that all individuals holding occupational licenses 

be afforded a notice and opportunity to be heard before disciplinary action involving the 

revocation, suspension or restriction of a license is taken by state licensing boards. This 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 
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principal was held to apply to automatic cancellation provisions contained in Board 

ordered probation settlement orders and decisions. 

On or about 2008, a probationer filed a petition for extraordinary writ with the Third 

District Court of Appeal challenging the automatic cancellation provisions imposed by 

the Medical Board of California (“MBC”) as a term and condition of probation. Mao v. 

Superior Court of California, No. C058547 (Super. Ct. No. 03CS000736) (Cal. Ct. App. 

Nov. 25, 2008). By conditioning probation with limitations on periods of non-practice no 

greater than two-years in duration, MBC essentially imposed a requirement that a 

probationer must practice under his or her license in order to retain it, or the license 

would cancel automatically after two years of non-practice. 

Petitioner argued that MBC lacked statutory authority to cancel a license when the 

licensee was otherwise in compliance with continuing licensure requirements including 

payment of licensure fees and meeting continuing medical education and that any 

automatic effort to cancel a compliant licensee without a hearing violates due process 

rights to notice and an opportunity to be heard before action may be taken. 

Significantly, the Court held, citing, Ralph Williams Ford v. New Car Dealers Policy & 

Appeals Bd. (1973) 30 Cal.App. 3d. 494, 500-501, that individuals must be afforded 

notice and an opportunity to be heard before being deprived of an occupational license. 

The Court found that an automatic cancellation clause was an unreasonable condition 

and did not further the Board’s objective for ensuring that a licensee did not sit out a 

probationary term by non-practice because he or she is obligated to practice under the 

terms and conditions of probation when medical practice is resumed. 

In this case, standard conditions nos. 34 and 35 of BPM’s current Manual of Disciplinary 

Guidelines with Model Disciplinary Orders recommends automatic cancellation of a 

license in all probation cases against disciplined licensees based on two separate 

grounds. These include automatic cancellation for: 1) permanent or temporary periods 

of residence outside of California exceeding two years in duration; or 2) failure to 

practice podiatric medicine for a total of two years.  

Based on the reasoning above, it is recommended that the aforementioned standard 

conditions be revised to eliminate the automatic cancellation provisions in order to 

afford individuals notice and an opportunity to be heard before disciplinary action is 

taken against a probationer. Proposed draft language changes ensuring that a 

probationer is afforded a hearing have been incorporated to conditions nos. 34 and 35 

as indicated in attachment B. The underlying concerns against probationers attempting 

to defeat terms of probation by sitting out the duration of probation through non-practice 

are preserved. 

Government Code Section 11529 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 
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Section 11529 of the California Government Code (“GC”) provides in pertinent part that 

an interim order will be dissolved in all cases if  an accusation is not filed and served 

“within 30 days of the date” after submission of the interim order.  Further, section 

11529 also specifies that “a written decision shall be prepared within 15 days of the 

hearing [….]” 

Previous proposed revisions to conditions 9, 10 and 11 of the model guidelines reviewed 

and considered by the Board at the June 5th meeting did not contain the requirement that 

an accusation shall have been filed within 30 days.  Disciplinary guideline revisions 

submitted for review and consideration now track the 30-day requirement codified in 

section 11529 GC.  Additionally, the proposed revisions also provide greater clarification 

that a 15-day deadline to issue a decision is applicable to both Administrative Law 

Judges and the Board absent good cause. 

Physician Assessment and Clinical Education Program 

Public service as a public trust dictates that every government agency and employee has 
a responsibility to the State of California and the people of the state to whom they serve 
to place loyalty to the Constitution, laws and ethical principles above private gain. 
Principles of ethical conduct include prohibitions on endorsement of organizations, 
products or persons absent statutory authority. Often, even the appearance of 
impropriety is frequently as damaging to government integrity and loss of public 
confidence in public institutions as impropriety itself. 

Current Board guidelines under conditions 18 (Professional Boundaries Program), 19 
(Clinical Training Program) and 24 (Monitoring - Professional Enhancement Program) 
specify that probationers must enroll in courses equivalent to those offered by the San 
Diego School of Medicine’s Physician Assessment and Clinical Education Program 
(“PACE”). 

Proposed revisions remove the reference to PACE and eliminate the appearance of 
government endorsement of one program over all others. 

Clinical Training Program 

Condition 18 describes the Board’s requirements for a clinical training program. The 

Board’s current model guidelines require a two day comprehensive assessment of 

respondent’s physical and mental health; basic clinical and communication skills 

common to all clinicians; and medical knowledge, skill and judgment related to the 

respondent’s area of practice in which he or she was alleged to be deficient, and 

required a minimum 40-hour program of clinical education in that area. 

The Board guidelines further provide that the program will advise the Board of its 

recommendations for any additional education, training, or treatment for any medical or 

psychological condition or anything else affecting respondent’s practice of medicine. 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 
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Current guidelines require respondent to pass an examination at the end of any 

additional education or clinical training. 

Proposed amendments include renaming Condition 18 to the “Clinical Competence 

Assessment Program.” The two day assessment and a 40-hour program requirement 

is also proposed to be eliminated to allow custom-designed assessments and 

programs specific to each respondent’s particular needs and circumstances thus 

removing the one-size fits all approach from the guidelines. Proposed amendments 

also add a pre-assessment, self-report and interview to be included in the assessment 

of the respondent and specify the respondent’s on site participation for a minimum of 

three to five days as determined by the program. 

Additionally, it is proposed that the program will be required to submit a 

comprehensive assessment to the Board that unequivocally states whether the 

respondent has demonstrated the ability to practice safely and independently.  The 

program is also to provide recommendations for any further education, clinical training, 

or evaluation or treatment for any medical or psychological condition, or anything else 

affecting respondent’s practice of medicine. References to passage of a final 

examination at completion of additional education or clinical training are proposed to 

be eliminated. Finally, the ability to practice in a clinical training program as an 

exception is proposed to be removed. 

FINANCIAL IMPACT 

None. 

ALTERNATIVES 

In view of the discussion above, no reasonable alternatives considered would be 

effective to carry out the mission of the Board in accord with its mandate of consumer 

protection and as further required by SB 1441. Continued use of terms and conditions 

of probation that may run afoul of due process considerations needlessly subjects future 

board settlement orders and decisions to collateral attack which may create further 

undue expense and burden in pursuit of the agency’s mission. Further, proposed 

changes discussed above are required for consistency with statutory requirements 

found in the Government Code effective January 1, 2014, in addition to strengthening 

program requirements in conformance with changes in educational and probationary 

environments which directly strengthen consumer protection. 

NEXT STEPS 

Should the Board adopt staff’s recommendation the Executive Officer will make 
any non-substantive changes and commence the formal rulemaking process with the 
Office of Administrative Law. 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Regulation section 1399.710 and Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines 
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ATTACHMENTS 

A .  Proposed Revisions to Regulation Section 1399.710 
B.  Proposed Revisions to BPM Manual of Disciplinary Guidelines with Model 

Disciplinary Orders 

Prepared by: Jason S. Campbell , J.D. 

Proposed Regulatory Revision to Board of Podiatric Reg ulati on sectio n 1399.710 and Man ua l of Disciplinary Guide lin es 
7 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

   

 

     

  

 

    

  

 

  

    

    

   

    

 

  

   

     

  

   

  

 

  

   

  

   

 

 

 

     

 

 

     

 

   

  

 ATTACHMENT A 

REVISIONS TO BPM MODEL DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES AND PODIATRIC 

MEDICINE REGULATION SECTION 1399.710
 

(1)   Amend title of Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations to read as follows: 

Article 4. Disciplinary Guidelines and Uniform Standards for Substance-Abusing Licensees. 

(2) Section 1399.710 of Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations is amended to read: 

§ 1399.710. Disciplinary Guidelines and Exceptions for Uniform Standards Related to 

Substance-Abusing Licensees. 

(a) In reaching a decision on a disciplinary action under the Administrative Procedure 

Act (Government Code section 11400 et seq.), the board shall consider the disciplinary 

guidelines entitled "Manual of Model Disciplinary Orders and Disciplinary Guidelines” with 

Model Disciplinary Orders" [revised September 2005] (11th Edition/2015) which are hereby 

incorporated by reference. Deviation from these orders and guidelines and orders, including the 

standard terms of probation, is appropriate where the board, in its sole discretion determines by 

adoption of a proposed decision or stipulation that the facts of a particular case warrant such a 

deviation by adoption of a proposed decision or stipulation that the facts of the particular case 

warrant such a deviation – for example: the presence of mitigating factors; the age of the case; 

evidentiary problems. 

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a), the Board shall use the Uniform Standards for 

Substance-Abusing Licensees as provided in section 1399.711, without deviation, for each 

individual determined to be a substance-abusing licensee. 

(c) Nothing in this section or section 1399.711 shall be construed as a limitation on the 

Board’s authority to seek an interim suspension order against a licensee pursuant to section 

11529 of the Government Code. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 

(3) Section 1399.711 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the 

California Code of Regulations to read: 

§ 1399.711. Uniform Standards for Substance-Abusing Licensees. 

(a) If the licensee is to be disciplined for unprofessional conduct involving the use of 

illegal drugs, the abuse of drugs and/or alcohol, or the use of another prohibited substance as 
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defined herein, the licensee shall be presumed to be a substance-abusing licensee for purposes of 

section 315 of the Code. 

(b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the Board from imposing additional terms or 

conditions of probation that are specific to a particular case or that are derived from the Board’s 

disciplinary guidelines referenced in section 1399.710 that the Board determines is necessary for 

public protection or to enhance the rehabilitation of the licensee. 

(c) The following probationary terms and conditions shall be used without deviation in 

the case of a substance-abusing licensee: 

(1) Clinical Diagnostic Evaluations and Reports; Temporary Removal From Practice. 

(A)  If the Board orders a licensee who is on probation due to a substance abuse problem 

to undergo a clinical diagnostic evaluation, the following applies: 

1. The clinical diagnostic evaluation shall be conducted by a licensed 

practitioner who holds a valid, unrestricted license; has three (3) years’ experience 
in providing evaluations of licensed doctors with substance abuse disorders; and 

is approved by the Board. 

2. The clinical diagnostic evaluation shall be conducted in accordance 

with acceptable professional standards for conducting substance abuse clinical 

diagnostic evaluations. 

3. The evaluator shall not have a current or former financial, personal, or 

business relationship with the licensee within the last five (5) years.  The 

evaluator shall provide an objective, unbiased, and independent evaluation.  

4. The clinical diagnostic evaluation report shall set forth, in the 

evaluator’s opinion, whether the licensee has a substance abuse problem; whether 

the licensee is a threat to himself or herself or others; and recommendations for 

substance abuse treatment, practice restrictions, or other recommendations related 

to the licensee’s rehabilitation and ability to practice safely. If the evaluator 

determines during the evaluation process that a licensee is a threat to himself or 

herself or others, the evaluator shall notify the Board within 24 hours of such a 

determination.  

5. In formulating his or her opinion as to whether the licensee is safe to 

return to either part-time or full-time practice and what restrictions or 

recommendations should be imposed, including participation in an inpatient or 

outpatient treatment program, the evaluator shall consider the following factors: 

a. License type; 

b. Licensee’s history; 

c. Documented length of sobriety/time that has elapsed since substance use; 
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d. Scope and pattern of substance abuse; 

e. Treatment history; 

f. Medical history; 

g. Current medical condition; 

h. Nature, duration, and severity of substance abuse problem; and 

i. Whether the licensee is a threat to himself or herself or the public. 

6. The cost of an evaluation shall be borne by the licensee.  

7. For all evaluations, a final written report shall be provided to the Board no 

later than ten (10) days from the date the evaluator is assigned the matter.  If the evaluator 

requests additional information or time to complete the evaluation and report, an 

extension may be granted, but shall not exceed 30 days from the date the evaluator was 

originally assigned the matter. 

(B)  Whenever the Board orders a licensee to undergo a clinical diagnostic evaluation, the 

Board shall order the licensee to cease practice pending the results of the clinical diagnostic 

evaluation and review by the Board. 

(C) While awaiting the results of the clinical diagnostic evaluation, the licensee shall 

undergo random biological fluid testing at least two (2) times per week. 

(D) The Board shall review the clinical diagnostic evaluation report within five (5) 

business days of receipt to determine whether the licensee is safe to return to either part-time or 

full-time practice and what restrictions or recommendations shall be imposed on the licensee 

based on the recommendations made by the evaluator. No licensee shall be returned to practice 

until he or she has at least 30 days of negative biological fluid tests or biological fluid tests 

indicating that a licensee has not used, consumed, ingested, or administered to himself or herself 

a prohibited substance, as defined in section 1399.712(e). 

(2) Notice of Employer or Supervisor Information.  If a licensee whose license is on 

probation has an employer or supervisor, the licensee shall provide to the Board the names, 

physical addresses, mailing addresses, and telephone numbers of all employers and supervisors 

and shall give specific, written consent for the Board, the worksite monitor, and his or her 

employers and supervisors to communicate regarding the licensee’s work status, performance, 

and monitoring. For purposes of this section, “supervisors” shall include the Chief of Staff and 

the Health or Well Being Committee Chair, or equivalent, if applicable, when the licensee has 

medical staff privileges. 

(3)  Biological Fluid Testing. 

(A) The Board shall require biological fluid testing of substance-abusing licensees. 

(B) For the purposes of this section, the terms “biological fluid testing” and “testing” 
mean the acquisition and chemical analysis of a licensee’s urine, blood, breath, or hair. 
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(C) The Board may order a licensee to undergo a biological fluid test on any day, at any 

time, including weekends and holidays.  Additionally, the licensee shall be subject to 52 - 104 

random tests per year within the first year of probation, and 36 - 104 random tests per year 

during the second year of probation and for the duration of the probationary term, up to five (5) 

years.  If there has been no positive biological fluid tests in the previous five (5) consecutive 

years of probation, testing may be reduced to one (1) time per month. 

(D) Nothing precludes the Board from increasing the number of random tests to the first-

year level of frequency for any reason, including, but not limited to, if the Board finds or has 

suspicion that a licensee has committed a violation of the Board’s testing program or has 

committed a violation as identified in section 1399.713(a), in addition to ordering any other 

disciplinary action that may be warranted. 

(E)  The scheduling of biological fluid testing shall be done on a random basis, preferably 

by a computer program, except when testing on a specific date is ordered by the Board or its 

designee. 

(F) The licensee shall be required to make daily contact with the Board or its designee to 

determine if biological fluid testing is required.  The licensee shall be tested on the date of the 

notification as directed by the Board or its designee. 

(G) Prior to changing testing locations for any reason, including during vacation or other 

travel, alternative testing locations must be approved by the Board and meet the requirements set 

forth in section 1399.715. 

(H)  The cost of biological fluid testing shall be borne by the licensee. 

(I) Exceptions to Testing Frequency Schedule. 

1. Previous Testing Orders/Sobriety. In cases where the Board has 

evidence that a licensee has participated in a treatment or monitoring program 

requiring random testing prior to being subject to testing by the Board, the Board 

may give consideration to that testing in altering the Board’s own testing schedule 

so that the combined testing is equivalent to the requirements of this section. 

2. Violation(s) Outside of Employment. A licensee whose license is 

placed on probation for a single conviction or incident or two convictions or 

incidents spanning greater than seven years from each other, where those 

violations did not occur at work or while on the licensee’s way to work, where 
alcohol or drugs were a contributing factor, may bypass the first-year testing 

frequency requirements and participate in the second-year testing frequency 

requirements. 

3. Not Employed in Health Care Field. The Board may reduce the testing 

frequency to a minimum of 12 times per year for any licensee who is not 

practicing or working in any health care field.  If a reduced testing frequency 
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schedule is established for this reason, and if a licensee wants to return to practice 

or work in a health care field, the licensee shall notify and secure the approval of 

the Board.  Prior to returning to any health care employment, the licensee shall be 

required to test at the first-year testing frequency requirement for a period of at 

least 60 days.  At such time the person returns to employment in a health care 

field, if the licensee has not previously met the first-year testing frequency 

requirement, the licensee shall be required to test at the first-year testing 

frequency requirement for a full year before he or she may be reduced to testing 

frequency of at least 36 tests per year. 

4. Tolling.  A Board may postpone all testing for any licensee whose 

probation is placed in a tolling status while the licensee is not residing in 

California, provided the overall length of the probationary period is also tolled.  A 

licensee shall notify the Board upon the licensee’s return to California and shall 

be subject to biological fluid testing as provided in this section.  If the licensee 

returns to employment in a health care field and has not previously met the first-

year testing frequency requirements, the licensee shall be subject to completing a 

full year at the first-year testing frequency requirements, otherwise the second-

year testing frequency requirements shall be in effect. 

5. Substance Abuse Disorder Not Diagnosed.  In cases where no current 

substance abuse disorder diagnosis is made, a lesser period of monitoring and 

biological fluid testing may be adopted by the Board, but shall not be less than 24 

times per year. 

(J) Reinstatement of License or Reduction of Penalty.  Nothing herein shall limit the 

Board’s authority to reduce or eliminate the penalties herein pursuant to a petition for 

reinstatement or reduction of penalty filed pursuant to Government Code section 11522. 

(4) Group Support Meetings.  

If the Board requires a licensee to participate in group support meetings, the following 

shall apply: 

(A) When determining the frequency of group support meetings to be attended, the Board 

or the evaluator shall give consideration to the following: 

1. The licensee’s history; 

2. The documented length of sobriety/time that has elapsed since substance use; 

3. The recommendation of the clinical evaluator; 

4. The scope and pattern of use; 

5. The licensee’s treatment history; and 

6. The nature, duration, and severity of substance abuse. 

(B) The facilitator of a group support meeting shall conform to the following 

requirements: 
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1. He or she shall have a minimum of three (3) years’ experience in the 

treatment and rehabilitation of substance abuse, and shall be licensed or certified 

by the state or nationally certified organizations. 

2. He or she shall not have a current or former financial, personal, or 

business relationship with the licensee within the last five (5) years. A licensee’s 

previous participation in a group support meeting led by the same facilitator does 

not constitute a current or former financial, personal, or business relationship. 

3. He or she shall provide to the Board a signed document showing the 

licensee’s name, the group name, the date and location of the meeting, the 

licensee’s attendance, and the licensee’s level of participation and progress. 

4. He or she shall report a licensee’s unexcused absence to the Board 

within 24 hours. 

(C) Any costs associated with attending and reporting on group support meetings shall 

be borne by the licensee. 

(5) Worksite Monitor Requirements and Responsibilities.  

(A) The Board may require the use of worksite monitors.  If the Board determines that a 

worksite monitor is necessary for a particular licensee, the licensee shall, within 30 calendar days 

of the effective date of that determination, submit to the Board or its designee for prior approval 

the name of a worksite monitor.  The worksite monitor shall meet the following criteria to be 

approved by the Board: 

1. The worksite monitor shall not have a current or former financial, 

personal, or familial relationship with the licensee, or other relationship that could 

reasonably be expected to compromise the ability of the monitor to render 

impartial and unbiased reports to the Board. If it is impractical for anyone but the 

licensee’s employer to serve as the worksite monitor, this requirement may be 
waived by the Board; however, under no circumstances shall a licensee’s worksite 
monitor be an employee or supervisee of the licensee. 

2. The worksite monitor’s scope of practice shall include the scope of 

practice of the licensee being monitored, be another licensed health care 

professional if no monitor with like scope of practice is available, or, as approved 

by the Board, be a person in a position of authority who is capable of monitoring 

the licensee at work. 

3. If a licensed professional, the worksite monitor shall have an active 

unrestricted license with no disciplinary action within the last five (5) years. 

4. The worksite monitor shall sign an affirmation that he or she has 
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reviewed the terms and conditions of the licensee’s disciplinary order and agrees 

to monitor the licensee as set forth by the Board. 

(B) The worksite monitor shall adhere to the following required methods of monitoring 

the licensee: 

1. Have face-to-face contact with the licensee in the work environment on 

as frequent a basis as determined by the Board, but not less than once per week. 

2. Interview other staff in the office regarding the licensee’s behavior, if 

requested by the Board. 

3. Review the licensee’s work attendance. 

(C) Reporting by the worksite monitor to the Board shall comply with the following: 

1. The worksite monitor shall verbally report any suspected substance 

abuse to the Board and the licensee’s employer or supervisor as defined in 

subsection (c)(2) within one (1) business day of occurrence.  If the suspected 

substance abuse does not occur during the Board’s normal business hours, the 

verbal report shall be made to the Board within one (1) hour of the next business 

day.  A written report that includes the date, time, and location of the suspected 

abuse; the licensee’s actions; and any other information deemed important by the 

worksite monitor shall be submitted to the Board within 48 hours of the 

occurrence. 

2. The worksite monitor shall complete and submit a written report 

monthly or as directed by the Board.  The report shall include the following: 

a. The licensee’s name and license number; 

b. The worksite monitor’s name and signature; 

c. The worksite monitor’s license number, if applicable; 

d. The worksite location(s); 

e. The dates the licensee had face-to-face contact with the monitor; 

f. The names of worksite staff interviewed, if applicable; 

g. An attendance report; 

h. Any change in behavior and/or personal habits; and 

i. Any indicators that can lead to suspected substance abuse. 

(D) The licensee shall complete any required consent forms and execute agreements with 

the approved worksite monitor(s) and the Board authorizing the Board and worksite monitor to 

exchange information. 

(E) If the monitor resigns or is no longer available, the licensee shall, within five (5) 

calendar days of such resignation or unavailability, submit to the Board the name and 

qualifications of a replacement monitor who will be assuming that responsibility within 15 
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calendar days. If the licensee fails to obtain approval of a replacement monitor within 60 

calendar days of the resignation or unavailability of the monitor, the licensee shall receive a 

notification from the Board or its designee to cease the practice of medicine within three (3) 

calendar days after being so notified.  The licensee shall cease the practice of medicine until a 

replacement monitor is approved and assumes monitoring responsibility. 

(F)  Worksite monitoring costs shall be borne by the licensee. 

(6)  The licensee must remain in compliance with all terms and conditions of probation.  

If the licensee commits a major or minor violation, as defined in section 1399.713, the Board 

will execute the disciplinary actions required by that section, and impose any additional terms or 

conditions necessary for public protection or to enhance the rehabilitation of the licensee. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 

(4) Section 1399.712 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read: 

§ 1399.712. Results of Biological Fluid Tests of Substance-Abusing Licensees.  

(a) If the results of a biological fluid test indicate that a licensee has used, consumed, 

ingested, or administered to himself or herself a prohibited substance, the Board shall order the 

licensee to cease practice and instruct the licensee to leave any place of work where he or she is 

practicing medicine or providing medical services. The Board shall also immediately notify all of 

the licensee’s employers, and supervisors as defined under section 1399.711(c)(2), if any, and 

work site monitor, if any, that the licensee may not provide medical services or practice medicine 

while the cease-practice order is in effect. 

(b) A biological fluid test will not be considered negative if a positive result is obtained 

while practicing, even if the practitioner holds a valid prescription for the substance.  

(c)  After the issuance of a cease-practice order, the Board shall determine whether the 

positive biological fluid test is in fact evidence of prohibited substance use by consulting with 

the specimen collector and the laboratory, communicating with the licensee, his or her treating 

doctor(s), other health care provider, or group facilitator, as applicable. 

(d) If no prohibited substance use exists, the Board shall lift the cease-practice order 

within one (1) business day.  

(e) For the purposes of this Article, “prohibited substance” means an illegal drug; a 

lawful drug not prescribed or ordered by an appropriately licensed health care provider for use 

by the licensee and approved by the Board; alcohol; or other substance the licensee has been 

instructed by the Board not to use, consume, ingest, or administer to himself or herself. 
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(f)  If the Board confirms that a positive biological fluid test is evidence of use of a 

prohibited substance, the licensee has committed a major violation, as defined in section 

1399.713, and the Board shall impose any or all of the consequences set forth in section 

1399.713, in addition to any other terms or conditions the Board determines are necessary for 

public protection or to enhance the rehabilitation of the licensee. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 

(5) Section 1399.713 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read: 

§ 1399.713. Actions by Substance-Abusing Licensees and Consequences Thereof. 

(a) A licensee who does any of the following shall be deemed to have committed a major 

violation of his or her probation: 

(1) Fails to undergo a required clinical diagnostic evaluation; 

(2) Commits multiple minor violations of probation conditions and terms; 

(3) Treats a patient or patients while under the influence of a prohibited substance; 

(4) Engage in any drug or alcohol related act that is a violation of state or federal law or 

regulation; 

(5) Fails to undergo biological fluid testing when ordered; 

(6) Uses, consumes, ingests, or administers to himself or herself a prohibited substance; 

(7) Knowingly uses, makes, alters, or possesses any object or product in such a way as to 

defraud or attempt to defraud a biological fluid test designed to detect the presence of a 

prohibited substance; or 

(8) Fails to comply with any term or condition of his or her probation that impairs public 

safety. 

(b) If a licensee commits a major violation, the Board will take one or more of the 

following actions: 

(1) Issue an immediate cease-practice order and order the licensee to undergo a clinical 

diagnostic evaluation at the expense of the licensee.  Any order issued by the Board pursuant to 
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this subsection shall state that the licensee must test negative for at least a month of continuous 

biological fluid testing before being allowed to resume practice. 

(2) Increase the frequency of biological fluid testing. 

(3) Refer the licensee for further disciplinary action, such as suspension, revocation, or 

other action as determined by the Board. 

(c) A licensee who does any of the following shall be deemed to have committed a minor 

violation of his or her probation: 

(1) Fails to submit required documentation to the Board in a timely manner; 

(2) Has an unexcused absence at a required meeting; 

(3) Fails to contact a worksite monitor as required; or 

(4) Fails to comply with any term or condition of his or her probation that does not impair 

public safety. 

(d) If a licensee commits a minor violation, the Board will take one or more of the 

following actions: 

(1) Issue a cease-practice order; 

(2) Order practice limitations; 

(3) Order or increase supervision of licensee; 

(4)  Order increased documentation; 

(5) Issue a citation and fine, or a warning letter; 

(6)  Order the licensee to undergo a clinical diagnostic evaluation at the expense of the 

licensee; 

(7) Take any other action as determined by the Board. 

(e) Nothing in this section shall be considered a limitation on the Board’s authority to  

revoke the probation of a licensee who has violated a term or condition of that probation. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 
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(6) Section 1399.714 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read: 

§ 1399.714. Request by a Substance-Abusing Licensee to Return to Practice. 

Before determining whether to authorize the return to practice after the issuance of a 

cease-practice order or after the imposition of practice restrictions following a clinical diagnostic 

evaluation, the Board in conjunction with the evaluator shall ensure that the licensee meets the 

following criteria: 

(a) A demonstration of sustained compliance with his or her current treatment or recovery 

program, as applicable; 

(b) A demonstration of the capability to practice medicine safely as evidenced by current 

worksite monitor reports (if currently being monitored), evaluations conducted by licensed health 

care practitioners, and any other information relating to the licensee’s substance abuse and 

recovery therefrom; and 

(c) Negative biological fluid tests or biological fluid tests indicating that a licensee has 

not used, consumed, ingested, or administered to himself or herself a prohibited substance, as 

defined in section 1399.712(e), for at least six (6) months; two (2) positive worksite monitor 

reports (if currently being monitored); and complete compliance with other terms and conditions 

of probation. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 

(7) Section 1399.715 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read: 

§ 1399.715. Requirements for Laboratories/Testing Locations and Specimen Collectors 

for Testing Substance-Abusing Licensees. 

Licensees shall contract with a laboratory or service approved in advance by the Board, 

provided that the laboratory or service meets all the following standards: 

(a)  Its specimen collectors shall either be certified by the Drug and Alcohol Testing 

Industry Association or have completed the training required to serve as a collector for the 

United States Department of Transportation. 

(b) Its specimen collectors shall conform to the current United States Department of 

Transportation Specimen Collection Guidelines. 
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(c) Its testing locations shall comply with the Urine Specimen Collection Guidelines 

published by the United States Department of Transportation without regard to the type of test 

administered. 

(d) Its specimen collectors shall observe the collection of testing specimens. 

(e) Its laboratories shall be certified and accredited by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

(f) Its testing locations shall submit a specimen to a laboratory within one (1) business 

day of receipt and all specimens collected shall be handled pursuant to chain of custody 

procedures. The laboratory shall process and analyze the specimen and provide legally 

defensible test results to the Board within seven (7) business days of receipt of the specimen. The 

Board will be notified of non-negative test results within one (1) business day and will be 

notified of negative test results within seven (7) business days. 

(g) Its testing locations shall possess all the materials, equipment, and technical expertise 

necessary in order to test every licensee for which it is responsible on any day of the week. 

(h)  Its testing locations shall be able to scientifically test for urine, blood, and hair 

specimens for the detection of alcohol and illegal and controlled substances. 

(i)  It must have testing sites that are located throughout California. 

(j)  It must have an automated 24-hour toll-free telephone system and/or a secure on-line 

computer database that allows the licensee to check in daily for testing. 

(k)  It must have a secure, HIPAA-compliant website or computer system to allow staff 

access to drug test results and compliance reporting information that is available 24 hours a day. 

(l)  It shall employ or contract with toxicologists that are licensed practitioners and have 

knowledge of substance abuse disorders and the appropriate medical training to interpret and 

evaluate laboratory biological fluid test results, medical histories, and any other information 

relevant to biomedical information. 

(m)  A toxicology screen will not be considered negative if a positive result is obtained 

while practicing, even if the practitioner holds a valid prescription for the substance. 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code; 

and Section 11400.20, Government Code.  Reference:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4, 2227, 2228, 

2229 and 2234, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11400.20 and 11425.50(e), 

Government Code. 

(8) Section 1399.716 is added to Article 4, Chapter 2, Division 13.9 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations to read: 
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§ 1399.716. Reporting Requirements Relating to Substance-Abusing Licensees. 

(a)  The Board shall report the following information on a yearly basis to the Department 

of Consumer Affairs and the Legislature as it relates to licensees with substance abuse problems 

who are on probation: 

(1) Number of probationers whose conduct was related to a substance abuse problem; 

(2) Number of relapses (break in sobriety); 

(3) Number of cease-practice orders; 

(4) Number of suspensions; 

(5) Number of major violations; nature of violation and action taken; 

(6) Number of petitions to revoke probation filed; and 

(7) Number of licensees who successfully completed probation. 

(b)  For each reporting category described in subsection (a), the Board shall identify the 

licensing category and the specific substance abuse problem (i.e., cocaine, alcohol, Demerol, 

etc.). 

(c)  If the reporting data indicates that licensees in specific licensing categories or with 

specific substance abuse problems have either a higher or lower probability of success, that 

information shall be taken into account when determining the success of terms and conditions of 

probation.  The information may also be used to determine the risk factor when the Board is 

determining whether a license should be revoked or placed on probation. 

(d)  The Board shall use the following criteria to determine if its terms and conditions of 

probation protect patients from harm and are effective in assisting its licensees in recovering 

from substance abuse problems in the long term: 

(1) One hundred percent of licensees whose licenses were placed on probation as a result 

of a substance abuse problem successfully completed probation, or had their licenses to practice 

revoked or surrendered on a timely basis based on noncompliance with terms and conditions of 

probation. 

(2)  At least 75 percent of licensees who successfully completed probation did not have 

any substantiated complaints related to substance abuse for at least five (5) years after 

completion. 

(e)  For purposes of measuring outcomes and effectiveness relating to biological fluid 

testing as described in section 1399.711(c)(3), the Board shall collect and report historical data 

(as available) and post-implementation data as follows: 

(1) Historical Data.  The Board should collect the following historical data (as available) 

for a period of two years prior to implementation of the Uniform Standards for Substance-

Abusing Licensees, for each person subject to testing for banned substances, who has done any 

of the following: 
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(A) Tested positive for a banned substance; 

(B) Failed to appear or call in for testing on more than three occasions; 

(C) Failed to pay testing costs; or 

(D) Given a diluted or invalid specimen. 

(2) Post-Implementation Data – Three Years 

The Board shall collect data annually for a period of three years following 

implementation of the Uniform Standards for Substance-Abusing Licensees for every licensee 

subject to testing for banned substances pursuant to section 1399.711(c)(3).  The data collected 

shall be reported to the Department of Consumer Affairs and the Legislature, upon request, and 

shall include, but may not be limited to: 

(A)  Licensee identification; 

(B)  License type; 

(C) Probation effective date; 

(D)  General range of testing frequency for each licensee; 

(E)  Dates testing requested; 

(F)  Dates tested; 

(G)  Identity of the entity that performed each test; 

(H)  Date(s) licensee tested positive; 

(I) Date(s) Board was informed of positive test(s); 

(J) Date(s) of questionable tests (e.g. dilute, high levels); 

(K)  Date(s) Board was notified of questionable test(s); 

(L)  Identification of substances detected or questionably detected; 

(M)  Date(s) licensee failed to appear for testing; 

(N)  Date(s) Board notified of licensee’s failure to appear; 

(O)  Date(s) licensee failed to call in for testing; 

(P) Date(s) Board was notified that licensee failed to call in for testing; 

(Q)  Date(s) licensee failed to pay for testing; 

(R) Date(s) licensee was removed/suspended from practice (identify which); and 

(S) Final outcome and effective date (if applicable). 

NOTE:  Authority cited:  Sections 315, 315.2, 315.4 and 2018, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 315, 315.2 and 315.4, Business and Professions Code. 
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 ATTACHMENT B
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICINE 

MANUAL 

OF 

MODEL DISCIPLINARY ORDERS GUIDELINES 

WITH AND 

MODEL DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES ORDERS 

(Effective February 4, 2006) 

These Disciplinary Guidelines were originally adopted by the BPM on 

September 5, 1984, and most recently revised September 2005 November 

13, 2015. They are for use by administrative law judges, attorneys, 

and licensees. 

Additional copies may be obtained from:
 

Board of Podiatric Medicine
 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1300
 

Sacramento, CA 95815-3835
 

(916) 263-2647 



  

 

 

 

   

     

 

 

       

 

 

          

       

 

 

 

         

 

 

 

       

 

 

MODEL DISCIPLINARY ORDERS GUIDELINES WITH
 
AND MODEL DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES ORDERS
 

Business and Professions Code section 2460.1 mandates that protection of 

the public shall be the highest priority for the Board of Podiatric 

Medicine (BPM). 

The BPM expects that, absent mitigating or other appropriate 

circumstances, Administrative Law Judges hearing cases on behalf of the 

BPM and proposed settlements submitted to the BPM will follow these 

Guidelines, including those imposing suspensions. Any proposed decision 

or settlement that departs from the disciplinary guidelines shall 

identify the departures and the facts supporting the departure. 

The Model Disciplinary Orders contain three sections: three (3) 

Disciplinary Orders; twenty-six (26) Optional Conditions whose use 

depends on the nature and circumstances of the particular case; and 

sixteen (16) Standard Conditions that generally appear in all probation 

cases. All orders should place the Order(s) first, optional 

condition(s) second, and standard conditions third. 

The Model Disciplinary Guidelines list proposed terms and conditions for 

more than twenty-four (24) sections of the Business and Professions 

Code. 



 

   

   

   

     

     

     

      

      

     

     

     

     

     

     

      

      

      

 

 

 

   

      

      

     

      

      

     

     

     

     

     

        

     

     

     

     

      

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

 

 

MODEL DISCIPLINARY ORDERS 

Model No.	 INDEX Page No. 

DISCIPLINARY ORDERS 

1.	 Revocation – Single Cause 1
 
2.	 Revocation – Multiple Causes 1
 
3.	 Standard Stay Order 1 

OPTIONAL CONDIDTIONS 

4. Actual Suspension 1
 
4a. Provisions for Cessation of Practice 1
 
5.	 Controlled Substances – Total Restriction 1
 
6.	 Controlled Substances – Surrender or DEA Permit 2
 
7.	 Controlled Substances – Partial Restriction 2
 
8.	 Controlled Substances – Maintain Records and 


Access to Records and Inventories 2
 
9.	 Controlled Substances – Abstain From Use 3
 
10.	 Alcohol – Abstain from Use 4
 
11.	 Biological Fluid Testing 5
 
12.	 Rehabilitation Program – Alcohol or Drug 6
 
13.	 Community Service – Free Services 7
 
14.	 Education Course 8
 
15.	 Prescribing Practices Course 8
 
16.	 Medical Record Keeping Course 9
 
17.	 Ethics Course 9
 
18.	 Professional Boundaries Program 10
 
19.	 Clinical Competence Assessment Training Program 11
 
20. Examination 13
 
21. Psychiatric Evaluation 14
 
22. Psychotherapy 15
 
23. Medical Evaluation and Treatment 16
 
24. Monitoring – Practice/Billing 17
 
25. Solo Practice 19
 
26. Third Party Chaperone 19
 
27. Prohibited Practice 20
 
27a. Restitution 21
 



 

   

 

 
  

   

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

   

 

  

     

     

     

     

     

      

     

  

 

  

     

     

 

 

    

STANDARD CONDITIONS
 

Model No.	 INDEX Page No. 

28.	 Notification 22 

29.	 Physician Assistants 22 

30.	 Obey All Laws 22 

31.	 Quarterly Declarations 22 

32.	 Probation Unit Compliance 22 

33.	 Interview with the Board or its designee 23 

34.	 Residing or Practicing Out-of-State 23 

35.	 Failure to Practice Podiatric Medicine – 24
 
California Resident
 

36.	 Completion of Probation 25
 
37.	 Violation of Probation 25
 
38.	 Cost Recovery 25
 
39.	 License Surrender 26
 
40.	 Probation Monitoring Costs 26
 
41.	 Notice to Employees 26
 
42.	 Changes of Employment 27
 
43.	 Compliance with Required Continuing Medical 27
 

Education
 



 

 

  

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

  

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

          

 

           

 

 

 

  

 

        

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

         

 

 

 

           

 

MODEL DISCIPLINARY ORDERS
 

1. Revocation - Single Cause 

Certificate No. (Ex: E-1035) issued to respondent (Ex: John 

Doe, DPM) is revoked. 

2. Revocation - Multiple Causes 

Certificate No. ________ issued to respondent ________ is 

revoked pursuant to Determination of Issues (Ex: I, II, and 

III) separately and for all of them. 

3. Standard Stay Order 

However, revocation is stayed and respondent is placed on 

probation for _______ (Ex: e.g., ten) years upon the following 

terms and conditions. 

OPTIONAL CONDITIONS 

4. Actual Suspension 

As part of probation, respondent is suspended from the 

practice of podiatric medicine for (Ex: 90 days) beginning the 

sixteenth (16th) day after the effective date of this 

decision. Respondent shall prominently post a notice of the 

Board’s Order of Suspension, in a place clearly visible to the 
public. Said notice, provided by the Board, shall remain so 

posted during the entire period of suspension. 

4a. Provisions for Cessation of Practice 

In settlements or orders which provide for a cessation of 

practice, respondent shall comply with procedures provided by 

the BPM regarding notification and management of patients. 

5. Controlled Substances - Total Restriction 

Respondent shall not order, prescribe, dispense, administer, 

or possess any controlled substances as defined in the 

California Uniform Controlled Substances Act. 

6. Controlled Substances - Surrender of DEA Permit 

Respondent is prohibited from practicing podiatric medicine 

until respondent provides documentary proof to the Board or 

its designee that respondent's DEA permit has been surrendered 

to the Drug Enforcement Administration for cancellation, 

together 

with any state prescription forms and all controlled 

substances order forms. Thereafter, respondent shall not 

reapply for a new DEA permit without the prior written consent 



 

 

   

 

       

         

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

           

        

        

            

              

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

         

 

 

 

 

   

       

          

 

of the Board or its designee. 

7.	 Controlled Substances - Partial Restriction 

Respondent shall not order, prescribe, dispense, administer or 

possess any controlled substances as defined by the California 

Uniform Controlled Substances Act, except for those drugs 

listed in Schedules(s) (e.g., IV and V) of the Act. 

NOTE: Also use Condition 8 which requires that separate 

records be maintained for all controlled substances 

prescribed. 

(Option) 

Respondent shall immediately surrender respondent's current 

DEA permit to the Drug Enforcement Administration for 

cancellation and reapply for a new DEA permit limited to those 

Schedules authorized by this order.  Within 15 calendar days 

after the effective date of this Decision, respondent shall 

submit proof that respondent has surrendered respondent’s DEA 
permit to the Drug Enforcement Administration for cancellation 

and reissuance. Within 15 calendar days after the effective 

date of the issuance of a new DEA permit, the respondent shall 

submit a true copy of the permit to the Board or its designee. 

8.	 Controlled Substances- Maintain Records and Access to Records 

and Inventories 

Respondent shall maintain a record of all controlled 

substances ordered, prescribed, dispensed, administered or 

possessed by respondent, during probation, showing all the 

following: 1) the name and address of the patient; 2) the 

date, 3) the character and quantity of controlled substances 

involved; and 4) the indications and diagnosis for which the 

controlled substance was furnished. 

Respondent shall keep these records in a separate file or 

ledger in chronological order. All records and any inventories 

of controlled substances shall be available for immediate 

inspection and copying on the premises by the Board or its 

designee at all times during business hours and shall be 

retained for the entire term of probation. 

Failure to maintain all records, to provide immediate access 

to the inventory, or to make all records available for 

immediate inspection and copying on the premises, is a 

violation of probation. 

9.	 Controlled Substances- Abstain from Use 

Respondent shall abstain completely from the personal use or 

possession of controlled substances as defined in the 

California Uniform Controlled Substances Act, dangerous drugs 

as defined by Business and Professions Code section 4022, and 

any drugs 



          

 

 

  

  

   

 

 

     

 

    

 

       

 

 

     

  

   

   

 

 

            

        

            

       

  

  

  

  

       

  

 

   

 

 

 

 

  

 

requiring a prescription. This prohibition does not apply to 

medications lawfully prescribed to respondent by another 

practitioner for a bona fide illness or condition. 

Within 15 calendar days of or receiving any lawfully 

prescribed lawful prescription medications, respondent shall 

notify the Board or its designee of the: issuing 

practitioner’s name, address, and telephone number; medication 

name, and strength, and quantity; and issuing pharmacy name, 

address, and telephone number. 

If respondent has a confirmed positive biological fluid test 

for any substance (whether or not legally prescribed) and has 

not reported the use to the Board or its designee, respondent 

shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to 

immediately cease the practice of medicine. The respondent 

shall not resume the practice of medicine until final decision 

on an accusation and/or a petition to revoke probation is 

effective. An accusation and/or petition to revoke probation 

shall be filed by the Board within 30 days of the notification 

to cease practice. If the respondent requests a hearing on 

the accusation and/or petition to revoke probation, the Board 

shall provide the respondent with a hearing within 30 days of 

the request, unless the respondent stipulates to a later 

hearing. If the case is heard from an Administrative Law 

Judge alone, he or she shall forward a proposed Decision to 

the Board within 15 days of submission of the matter. Within 

15 days of receipt by the Board of the Administrative Law 

Judge’s decision, the Board shall issue its Decision, unless 

good cause can be shown for the delay. If the case is heard by 

the Board, the Board shall issue its decision within 15 days 

of submission of the case, unless good cause can be shown for 

the delay. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, non-

adoption of the proposed decision, request for 

reconsideration, remands and other interlocutory orders issued 

by the Board. The cessation of practice shall not apply to 

the reduction of the probationary time period. 

If the Board does not file an accusation or petition to revoke 

probation within 30 days of the issuance of the notification 

to cease practice or does not provide respondent with a 

hearing within 30 days of such a request, the notification to 

cease practice shall be dissolved. 

10. Alcohol - Abstain from Use 

Respondent shall abstain completely from the use of products 

or beverages containing alcohol. 

If respondent has a confirmed positive biological fluid test 

for alcohol, respondent shall receive a notification from the 

Board or its designee to immediately cease the practice of 

medicine. The respondent shall not resume the practice of 

medicine until the final decision on an accusation and/or a 

petition to revoke probation is effective. An accusation 

and/or petition to revoke probation shall be filed by the 



 

          

 

 

 

 

        

 

  

   

 

           

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

     

 

 

      

 

 

 

  

          

          

 

    

Board within 30 days of the notification to cease practice.  

If the respondent requests a hearing on the accusation and/or 

petition to revoke probation, the Board shall provide the 

respondent with a hearing within 30 days of the request, 

unless the respondent stipulates to a later hearing. If the 

case is heard from an Administrative Law Judge alone, he or 

she shall forward a proposed Decision to the Board within 15 

days of submission of the matter. Within 15 days of receipt 

by the Board of the Administrative Law Judge’s decision, the 

Board shall issue its Decision, unless good cause can be shown 

for the delay. If the case is heard by the Board, the Board 

shall issue its decision within 15 days of submission of the 

case, unless good cause can be shown for the delay. Good 

cause includes, but is not limited to, non-adoption of the 

proposed decision, request for reconsideration, remands and 

other interlocutory orders issued by the Board. The cessation 

of practice shall not apply to the reduction of the 

probationary time period.
 

If the Board does not file an accusation or petition to revoke 

probation within 30 days of the issuance of the notification 

to cease practice or does not provide respondent with a 

hearing within 30 days of such a request, the notification to 

cease practice shall be dissolved. 

11. Biological Fluid Testing 

Respondent shall immediately submit to biological fluid 

testing, at respondent's expense, upon the request of the 

Board or its designee. Biological fluid testing may include, 

but is not limited to, urine, blood, breathalyzer, hair 

follicle testing, or similar drug screening approved by the 

Board or its designee. Prior to practicing medicine, 

respondent shall contract with a laboratory or service 

approved in advance by the Board or its designee that will 

conduct random, unannounced, observed, biological fluid 

testing. The contract shall require results of the tests to 

be transmitted by the laboratory or service directly to the 

Board or its designee within four hours of the results 

becoming available. Respondent shall maintain this laboratory 

or service contract during the period of probation. 

A certified copy of any laboratory test results may be 

received in evidence in any may proceedings between the Board 

and the respondent. Failure to submit to, or failure to 

complete the required biological fluid testing, is a violation 

of probation. 

If respondent fails to cooperate in a random biological fluid 

testing program within the specified time frame, respondent 

shall receive a notification from the Board or its designee to 

immediately cease the practice of medicine. The respondent 

shall not resume the practice of medicine until final decision 

on an accusation and/or a petition to revoke probation is 

effective. An accusation and/or petition to revoke probation 

shall be filed by the Board within 30 days of the notification 



 

         

           

 

            

              

          

       

 

 

  

         

 

         

 

 

 

   

 

         

         

       

 

 

    

 

         

 

 

 

to cease practice. If the respondent requests a hearing on 

the accusation and/or petition to revoke probation, the Board 

shall provide the respondent with a hearing within 30 days of 

the request, unless the respondent stipulates to a later 

hearing. If the case is heard from an Administrative Law 

Judge alone, he or she shall forward a proposed Decision to 

the Board within 15 days of submission of the matter. Within 

15 days of receipt by the Board of the Administrative Law 

Judge’s decision, the Board shall issue its Decision, unless 

good cause can be shown for the delay. If the case is heard by 

the Board, the Board shall issue its decision within 15 days 

of submission of the case, unless good cause can be shown for 

the delay. Good cause includes, but is not limited to, non-

adoption of the proposed decision, request for 

reconsideration, remands and other interlocutory orders issued 

by the Board. The cessation of practice shall not apply to 

the reduction of the probationary time period. 

If the Board does not file an accusation or petition to revoke 

probation within 30 days of the issuance of the notification 

to cease practice or does not provide respondent with a 

hearing within 30 days of such a request, the notification to 

cease practice shall be dissolved. 

12. Rehabilitation Program - Alcohol or Drug 

Within 30 days of the effective date of this decision, 

respondent shall submit to the BPM for its prior approval a 

rehabilitation monitoring program. When evaluating programs 

for approval, the following will be taken into consideration: 

Unless specifically noted in the decision, the minimum length 

of the program shall be no less than three years. All plans 

must include face to face monitoring, random biological fluid 

testing, and an educational program that addresses disease 

concepts, recovery process and recovery oriented lifestyle 

changes. 

Within 30 days of approval of said program respondent shall 

enroll and participate until the BPM or its designee 

determines that further monitoring and rehabilitation is no 

longer necessary. If it is determined by both the 

rehabilitation program and a BPM designated physician that 

respondent cannot practice podiatric medicine safely, the 

respondent shall immediately cease practice upon notification. 

Respondent may not resume practice until it has been 

determined by both the rehabilitation program and a BPM 

designated physician that respondent can safely practice 

podiatric medicine and has been notified in writing by the 

board’s designee. Failure to cooperate or comply with the 

Rehabilitation Program requirements and recommendations, 

quitting the program without permission, or being expelled for 

cause is a violation of probation. 



   

 

 

 

            

           

 

 

          

           

          

  

 

 

  

 

         

      

  

         

 

 

  

 

13. Community Service - Free Services 

Within 60 days of the effective date of this Decision, 

respondent shall submit to the Board or its designee for its 

prior approval a community service plan in which respondent 

shall within the first 2 years of probation, 

provide________hours of free services (e.g.,medical or non-

medical) to a community or non-profit organization. If the 

term of probation is designated for 2 years or less, the 

community service hours must be completed not later than 6 

months prior to the completion of probation. 

Prior to engaging in any community service respondent shall 

provide a true copy of the Decision(s) to the chief of staff, 

director, office manager, program manager, officer, or the 

chief executive officer at every community or non-profit 

organization where respondent provides community service and 

shall submit proof of compliance to the Board or its designee 

within 15 calendar days. This condition shall also apply to 

any change(s) in community service. 

Community service performed prior to the effective date of the 

Decision shall not be accepted in fulfillment of this 

condition. NOTE: In quality of care cases, only non-medical 

community service is allowed unless respondent passes the 

National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners Part III Exam or 

otherwise demonstrates competency prior to providing community 

service. 

14. Education Course 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, and on an annual basis thereafter, respondent shall 

submit to the Board or its designee for its prior approval 

educational program(s) or course(s) which shall not be less 

than 40 hours per year, for each year of probation. The 

educational program(s) or course(s) shall be aimed at 

correcting any areas of deficient practice or knowledge and 

shall be Category I certified or Board approved and limited to 

classroom, conference, or seminar settings. The educational 

program(s) or course(s) shall be at the respondent’s expense 

and shall be in addition to the Continuing Medical Education 

(CME) requirements, which must be scientific in nature, for 

renewal of licensure. Following the completion of each course, 

the Board or its designee may administer an examination to 

test respondent's knowledge of the course. Respondent shall 

provide proof of attendance for 65 hours of CME of which 40 

hours were in satisfaction of this condition. 

15. Prescribing Practices Course 



 

  

 

 

 

  

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

        

        

 

 

 

        

      

        

 

 

       

 

 

  

 

        

        

 

 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, respondent shall enroll in a course in prescribing 

practices, at respondent’s expense, approved in advance by the 

Board or its designee. Failure to successfully complete the 

course during the first 6 months of probation is a violation 

of probation. 

A prescribing practices course taken after the acts that gave 

rise to the charges in the Accusation, but prior to the 

effective date of the Decision may, in the sole discretion of 

the Board or its designee, be accepted towards the fulfillment 

of this condition if the course would have been approved by 

the Board or its designee had the course been taken after the 

effective date of this Decision. 

Respondent shall submit a certification of successful 

completion to the Board or its designee not later than 15 

calendar days after successfully completing the course, or not 

later than 15 calendar days after the effective date of the 

Decision, whichever is later. 

16. Medical Record Keeping Course 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this decision, 

respondent shall enroll in a course in medical record keeping, 

at respondent’s expense, approved in advance by the Board or 

its designee. Failure to successfully complete the course 

during the first 6 months of probation is a violation of 

probation. 

A medical record keeping course taken after the acts that gave 

rise to the charges in the Accusation, but prior to the 

effective date of the Decision may, in the sole discretion of 

the Board or its designee, be accepted towards the fulfillment 

of this condition if the course would have been approved by the 

Board or its designee had the course been taken after the 

effective date of this Decision. 

Respondent shall submit a certification of successful 

completion to the Board or its designee not later than 15 

calendar days after successfully completing the course, or not 

later than 15 calendar days after the effective date of the 

Decision, whichever is later. 

17. Ethics Course 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this decision, 

respondent shall enroll in a course in ethics, at respondent’s 
expense, approved in advance by the Board or its designee.  

Failure to successfully complete the course during the first 

year is a violation of probation. 

An ethics course taken after the acts that gave rise to the 

charges in the Accusation, but prior to the effective date of 

the Decision may, in the sole discretion of the Board or its 



      

        

       

 

 

 

   

      

       

 

 

 

   

 

 

      

        

 

  

    

       

      

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

designee, be accepted towards the fulfillment of this condition 

if the course would have been approved by the Board or its 

designee had the course been taken after the effective date of 

this Decision. Respondent shall submit a certification of 

successful completion to the Board or its designee not later 

than 15 calendar days after the effective date of the Decision. 

18. Professional Boundaries Program 

Within 60 calendar days from the effective date of this 

Decision, respondent shall enroll in a professional boundaries 

program, at respondent’s expense, equivalent to the 

Professional Boundaries Program, Physician Assessment and 

Clinical Education Program at the University of California, San 

Diego School of Medicine (“Program”).approved in advance by the 
Board or its designee. Respondent, at the Pprogram’s 

discretion, shall undergo and complete the Pprogram’s 

assessment of respondent’s competency, mental health and/or 

neuropsychological performance, and at minimum, a 24 hour 

program of interactive education and 

training in the area of boundaries, which takes into account 

data obtained from the assessment and from the Decision(s), 

Accusation(s) and any other information that the Board or its 

designee deems relevant. The Pprogram shall evaluate 

respondent at the end of the training and the Pprogram shall 

provide any data from the assessment and training as well as 

the results of the evaluation to the Board or its designee. 

Failure to complete the entire Pprogram not later than six 

months after respondent’s initial enrollment shall constitute a 
violation of probation unless the Board or its designee agrees 

in writing to a later time for completion. Based on 

respondent’s performance and evaluations from the assessment, 

education, and training, the Pprogram shall advise the Board or 

its designee of its recommendation(s) for additional education, 

training, psychotherapy and other measures necessary to ensure 

that respondent can practice medicine safely. Respondent shall 

comply with Pprogram recommendations.  At the completion of the 

Pprogram, respondent shall submit to a final evaluation. The 

Pprogram shall provide the results of the evaluation to the 

Board or its designee. 

The Pprogram’s determination whether or not respondent 

successfully completed the Pprogram shall be binding. Failure 

to participate in and complete successfully all phases of the 

Pprogram, as outlined above, is a violation of probation. 

(Option # 1: Condition Precedent) 

Respondent shall not practice medicine until respondent has 

successfully completed the Program and has been so notified 

by the Board or its designee in writing. 

(Option # 2: Condition Subsequent) 

If respondent fails to complete the Program within the 



       

  

 

 

 

    

 

        

  

 

       

 

 

 

 

 

    

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

    

 

      

 

      

 

 

    

 

        

       

 

 

 

   

 

 

      

designated time period, respondent shall cease the practice of 

podiatric medicine within 72 hours after being notified by the 

Board or its designee that respondent failed to complete the 

Program. 

19. Clinical Competence Assessment Training Program 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this Decision, 

respondent shall enroll in a clinical competence assessment 

training or educational program equivalent to the Physician 

Assessment and Clinical Education Program (PACE) offered at the 

University of California – San Diego School of Medicine 

(“Program”).approved in advance by the Board or its designee. 

The Pprogram shall consist of a Comprehensive Assessment 

program comprised of a two-day assessment of respondent’s 

physical and mental health; basic clinical and communication 

skills common to all clinicians; and medical knowledge, skill 

and judgment pertaining to respondent’s specialty or sub-

specialty, and at minimum, a 40 hour program of clinical 

education in the area of practice in which respondent was 

alleged to be deficient and. The program shallwhich takes into 

account data obtained from the pre-assessment, self report form 

and interview, and the Decision(s), Accusation(s), and any 

other information that the Board or its designee deems 

relevant. Respondent shall pay all expenses associated with 

the clinical training program. The program shall require 

respondent’s on-site participation for a minimum of 3 and no 

more than 5 days as determined by the program for the 

assessment and clinical education evaluation. 

At the end of the evaluation, the program will submit a report 

to Based on respondent’s performance and test results in the 

assessment and clinical education, the Program will advise the 

Board or its designee which unequivocally states whether the 

respondent has demonstrated the ability to practice safely and 

independently. Based on respondent’s performance on the 

Clinical Compentence Assessment, the program will advise the 

Board or its designee of its recommendation(s) for the scope 

and length of any additional educational or clinical training, 

evaluation or treatment for any medical condition, treatment 

for any or psychological condition, or anything else affecting 

respondent’s practice of podiatric medicine. Respondent shall 
comply with Pprogram recommendations. 

At the completion of any additional educational or clinical 

training, respondent shall submit to and pass an examination. 

The Pprogram’s determination whether or not respondent passed 

the examination or successfully completed the Pprogram shall be 

binding. 

Respondent shall complete the Pprogram not later than six 

months after respondent’s initial enrollment unless the Board 

or its designee agrees in writing to a later time for 

completion. Failure to participate in and complete successfully 



   

 

 

 

    

 

        

 

 

 

 

  

        

 

   

 

  

 

  

  

 

 

  

        

 

 

 

       

 

 

  

 

          

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

all phases of the clinical competence assessment training 

program outlined above is a violation of probation. 

(Option #1: Condition Precedent) 

Respondent shall not practice podiatric medicine until 

respondent has successfully completed the Pprogram and has been 

so notified by the Board or its designee in writing, except 

that respondent may practice in a clinical training program 

approved by the Board or its designee. Respondent’s practice 
of podiatric medicine shall be restricted only to that which is 

required by the approved training program. 

(Option#2: Condition Subsequent) 

If respondent fails to complete the clinical competence 

assessment training program within the designated time period, 

respondent shall cease the practice of medicine within 72 hours 

after being notified by the Board or its designee that 

respondent failed to complete the clinical competence 

assessment training program. 

(Option#3) 

After respondent has successfully completed the clinical 

competence assessment training program, respondent shall 

participate in a professional enhancement program equivalent to 

the one offered by the Physician Assessment and Clinical 

Education Program at the University of California, San Diego 

School of Medicine, approved in advance by the Board or its 

designee, which shall include quarterly chart review, semi-

annual practice assessment, and semi-annual review of 

professional growth and education. Respondent shall 

participate in the professional enhancement program at 

respondent’s expense during the term of probation, or until the 
Board or its designee determines that further participation is 

no longer necessary. 

Failure to participate in and complete successfully the 

professional enhancement program outlined above is a violation 

of probation. 

20. Examination 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, respondent shall arrange to take and pass a written 

examination, approved by the Board. Failure to pass the 

examination within one year of the effective date of this 

Decision is a violation of probation. Respondent shall pay 

the costs of all examinations. For purposes of this 

condition, the exam shall be a passing score of the National 

Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners Part III examination 

consistent with B&P code section 2493. 

(Continue with either one of these two options.) 

(OPTION 1: Condition Precedent) 

Respondent shall not practice podiatry until respondent has 



           

 

 

 

 

 

           

         

 

  

  

 

 

     

         

 

 

 

        

        

 

 

 

 

           

 

 

 

  

passed the required examination and has been so notified by 

the Board or its designee in writing. This prohibition shall 

not bar respondent from practicing in a clinical training 

program approved by the Board or its designee. Respondent’s 

practice of podiatric medicine shall be restricted only to 

that which is required by the approved training program. 

NOTE: The condition precedent option is particularly 

recommended in cases where respondent has been found to be 

incompetent, repeatedly negligent, or grossly negligent. 

(OPTION 2: Condition Subsequent) 

If the respondent fails to pass the first examination, 

respondent shall be suspended from the practice of podiatric 

medicine. Respondent shall cease the practice of podiatric 

medicine within 72 hours after being notified by the Board or 

its designee that respondent has failed the examination. 

Respondent shall remain suspended from the practice of 

medicine until respondent successfully passes a follow-up 

examination, as evidenced by written notice to respondent from 

the Board or its designee. 

21. Psychiatric Evaluation 

Within 30 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, and on whatever periodic basis thereafter may be 

required by the Board or its designee, respondent shall 

undergo a psychiatric evaluation (and psychological testing, 

if deemed necessary) by a Board appointed board certified 

psychiatrist, who shall consider any information provided by 

the Board or designee and any other information the 

psychiatrist deems relevant, and shall furnish a written 

evaluation report to the Board or its designee. Psychiatric 

evaluations conducted prior to the effective date of the 

Decision shall not be accepted towards the fulfillment of the 

requirement. Respondent shall pay the cost of all psychiatric 

evaluations and psychological testing 

Respondent shall comply with all restrictions or conditions 

recommended by the evaluating psychiatrist within 15 calendar 

days after being notified by the Board or its designee. 

Failure to undergo and complete a psychiatric evaluation and 

psychological testing, or comply with the required additional 

conditions or restrictions, is a violation of probation. 

(Option: Condition Precedent) 

Respondent shall not engage in the practice of podiatric 

medicine until notified by the Board or its designee that 

respondent is mentally fit to practice podiatric medicine 

safely. The period of time that respondent is not practicing 

medicine shall not be counted toward completion of the term of 

probation. 

22. Psychotherapy 



 

          

   

          

 

 

        

 

        

          

 

          

    

 

 

 

 

 

        

 

 

  

 

           

 

 

Within 60 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, respondent shall submit to the Board or its designee 

for prior approval the name and qualifications of a board 

certified psychiatrist or a licensed psychologist who has a 

doctoral degree in psychology and at least five years or 

postgraduate experience in the diagnosis and treatment of 

emotional and mental disorders. Upon approval, respondent 

shall undergo and continue psychotherapy treatment, including 

any modifications to the frequency of psychotherapy, until the 

Board or its designee deems that no further psychotherapy is 

necessary. 

The psychotherapist shall consider any information provided by 

the Board or its designee and any other information the 

psychotherapist deems relevant and shall furnish a written 

evaluation report to the Board or its designee. Respondent 

shall cooperate in providing the psychotherapist any 

information and documents that the psychotherapist may deem 

pertinent. Respondent shall have the treating psychotherapist 

submit quarterly status reports to the Board or its designee. 

The Board or its designee may require respondent to undergo 

psychiatric evaluations by a Board-appointed board certified 

psychiatrist. 

If, prior to the completion of probation, respondent is found 

to be mentally unfit to resume the practice of podiatric 

medicine without restrictions, the Board shall retain 

continuing jurisdiction over the respondent’s license and the 

period ofprobation shall be extended until the Board 

determines that the respondent is mentally fit to resume the 

practice of podiatric medicine without restrictions. 

Respondent shall pay the cost of all psychotherapy and 

psychiatric evaluations. 

Failure to undergo and continue psychotherapy treatment, or 

comply with any required modification in the frequency or 

psychotherapy, is a violation of probation. 

NOTE: This condition is for those cases where the evidence 

demonstrates that the respondent has had impairment 

(impairment by mental illness, alcohol abuse and/or drug self— 
abuse) related to the violations but is not at present a 

danger to respondent’s patients. 

23. Medical Evaluation and Treatment 

Within 30 calendar days of the effective date of this 

Decision, and on a periodic basis thereafter as may be 

required by the Board or its designee, respondent shall 

undergo a medical evaluation by a Board-appointed physician 

who shall consider any information provided by the Board or 

designee and any other information the evaluating physician 

deems relevant and shall furnish a medical report to the Board 

or its designee. 

If respondent is required by the Board or its designee to 



 

 

 

 

 

 

          

        

 

 

 

  

         

 

 

 

 

   

 

           

         

        

 

 

         

 

 

undergo medical treatment, respondent shall within 30 

calendar days of the requirement notice, submit to the Board 

or its designee for its prior approval the name and 

qualifications of a treating physician of respondent's 

choice. Upon approval of the treating physician, respondent 

shall within 15 calendar days undertake and shall continue 

such treatment until further notice from the Board or its 

designee. The treating physician shall consider any 

information provided by the Board or its designee or any 

other information the treating physician may deem pertinent 

prior to commencement of treatment.  Respondent shall have 

the treating physician submit quarterly reports to the Board 

or its designee indicating whether or not the respondent is 

capable of practicing medicine safely. Respondent shall 

provide the Board or its designee with any and all medical 

records pertaining to treatment, that the Board or its 

designee deems necessary. 

If, prior to the completion of probation, respondent is found 

to be physically incapable of resuming the practice of 

podiatric medicine without restrictions, the Board shall 

retain continuing jurisdiction over respondent’s license and 

the period of probation shall be extended until the Board 

determines that respondent is physically capable of resuming 

the practice of podiatric medicine without restrictions. 

Respondent shall pay the cost of the medical evaluation(s) and 

treatment. 

Failure to undergo and continue medical treatment or comply 

with the required additional conditions or restrictions is a 

violation of probation. 

(OPTION – Condition Precedent) 
Respondent shall not engage in the practice of podiatric 

medicine until notified in writing by the Board or its 

designee of its determination that respondent is medically fit 

to practice safely. 

NOTE: This condition is for those cases where the evidence 

demonstrates that medical illness or disability was a 

contributing cause of the violations. 

24. Monitoring – Practice/Billing 

Within 30 days of the effective date of this decision, the 

entire practice shall be monitored, including, but not limited 

to the following: medical records, charting, pre and 

postoperative evaluations, and all surgical procedures, and 

billing records. 

The Board shall immediately, within the exercise of reasonable 

discretion, appoint a doctor of podiatric medicine from its 

panel of medical consultants or panel of expert reviewers as 

the monitor. 

The monitor shall provide quarterly reports to the Board or 



 

 

 

 

          

 

 

         

      

          

           

 

 

 

       

       

 

         

 

         

        

         

 

 

         

 

 

its designee which includes an evaluation of respondent’s 

performance, indicating whether respondent’s practices are 

within the standards of practice of podiatric medicine or 

billing, or both, and whether respondent is practicing 

podiatric medicine safely. 

The Board or its designee shall determine the frequency and 

practice areas to be monitored. Such monitoring shall be 

required during the entire period of probation. The Board or 

its designee may at its sole discretion also require prior 

approval by the monitor of any medical or surgical procedures 

engaged in by the respondent. The respondent shall pay all 

costs of such monitoring and shall otherwise comply with all 

requirements of his or her contract with the monitor, a copy 

of which is attached as “Appendix A – Agreement to Monitor 
Practice and/or Billing” (revised April 2004). If the monitor 
terminates the contract, or is no longer available, the Board 

or its designee shall appoint a new monitor immediately. 

Respondent shall not practice at any time during the probation 

until the respondent provides a copy of the contract with the 

current monitor to the probation investigator and such 

contract is approved by the Board. 

Respondent shall provide access to the practice monitor of 

respondent’s patient records and such monitor shall be 

permitted to make direct contact with any patients treated or 

cared for by respondent and to discuss any matters related to 

respondent’s care and treatment of those patients. Respondent 
shall obtain any necessary patient releases to enable the 

monitor to review records and to make direct contact with 

patients. Respondent shall execute a release authorizing the 

monitor to provide to the Board or its designee any relevant 

information. If the practice monitor deems it necessary to 

directly contact any patient, and thus require the disclosure 

of such patient’s identity, respondent shall notify the 

patient that the patient’s identity has been requested 

pursuant to the Decision. This notification shall be signed 

and dated by each patient prior to the commencement or 

continuation of any examination or treatment of each patient 

by respondent and a copy of such notification shall be 

maintained in each patient’s file. The notifications signed by 
respondent’s patients shall be subject to inspection and 

copying by the Board or its designee at any time during the 

period of probation that respondent is required to comply with 

this condition. The practice monitor will sign a 

confidentiality agreement, requiring him or her to keep all 

patient information regarding respondent’s patients in 

complete confidence, except as otherwise required by the Board 

or its designee. 

Failure to maintain all records, or to make all appropriate 

records available for immediate inspection and copying on the 

premises, or to comply with this condition as outlined above 

is a violation of probation. 



  

         

 

 

 

         

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

         

 

 

          

 

 

           

 

 

           

           

 

        

 

 

    

       

          

 

         

     

 

 

 

 

In lieu of a monitor, respondent may participate in the a 

professional enhancement program offered by the Physician 

Assessment and Clinical Education Program at the University of 

California, San Diego School of Medicine, approved by the 

Board or its designee that includes, at minimum, quarterly 

chart review, semi-annual practice assessment, and semi-annual 

review of professional growth and education. Respondent shall 

participate in the professional enhancement program at 

respondent’s expense during the term of probation. 

25. Solo Practice 

Respondent is prohibited from engaging in the solo practice of 

podiatric medicine. 

26. Third Party Chaperone 

During probation, respondent shall have a third party present 

while consulting, examining or treating patients. Respondent 

shall, within 30 calendar days of the effective date of the 

Decision, submit to the Board or its designee for prior 

approval name(s) of persons who will act as the third party 

chaperone. 

Each third party chaperone shall initial and date each patient 

medical record at the time the chaperone’s services are 

provided. Each third party chaperone shall read the 

Decision(s) and the Accusation(s), and fully understand the 

role of the third party chaperone. 

Respondent shall maintain a log of all patients seen for whom 

a third party chaperone is required. The log shall contain 

the: 

1) patient name, address and telephone number; 2) medical 

record number; and 3) date of service. Respondent shall keep 

this log in a separate file or ledger, in chronological order, 

shall make the log available for immediate inspection and 

copying on the premises at all times during business hours by 

the Board or its designee, and shall retain the log for the 

entire term of probation. Failure to maintain a log of all 

patients requiring a third party chaperone, or to make the log 

available for immediate inspection and copying on the 

premises, is a violation of probation. 

(Option) 

Respondent shall provide written notification to respondent’s 
patients that a third party chaperone shall be present during 

all consultations, examination, or treatment with ___________ 

patients. Respondent shall maintain in the patient’s file a 

copy of the written notification, shall make the notification 

available for immediate inspection and copying on the premises 

at all times during business hours by the Board or its 

designee, and shall retain the notification for the entire 

term of probation 

Note: Sexual offenders should normally be placed in a 

monitored environment. 



  

 

   

        

         

          

        

 

 

          

            

 

          

 

 

  

           

         

 

 

           

  

          

 

 

 

   

 

          

 

 

 

  

27. Prohibited Practice 

During probation, respondent is prohibited from (e.g., 

practicing, performing, or treating) (e.g., a specific medical 

procedure; surgery; on a specific patient population). After 

the effective date of this Decision, the first time that a 

patient seeking the prohibited services makes an appointment 

respondent shall orally notify the patient that respondent 

does not (e.g., practice, perform or treat) (e.g., a specific 

medical procedure; surgery; on a specific patient population). 

Respondent shall maintain a log of all patients to whom the 

required oral notification was made. The log shall contain 

the: 1) patient’s name, address, and phone number; 2) 

patient’s medical record number, if available; 3) the full 

name of the person making the notification; 4) the date the 

notification was made; and 5) a description of the 

notification given. Respondent shall keep this log in a 

separate file or ledger, in chronological order, shall make 

the log available for immediate inspection and copying on the 

premises at all times during business hours by the Board or 

its designee, and shall retain the log for the entire term of 

probation. Failure to maintain a log as defined in the 

section, or to make the log available for immediate inspection 

and copying on the premises during business hours is a 

violation of probation. 

In addition to the required oral notification, after the 

effective date of this Decision, the first time that a patient 

who seeks the prohibited services presents to respondent, 

respondent shall provide a written notification to the patient 

stating that respondent does not _____________(e.g., practice, 

perform or treat)_______________(e.g., a specific medical 

procedure; surgery; on a specific patient population). 

Respondent shall maintain a copy of the written notification 

in the patient’s file, shall make the notification available 

for immediate inspection and copying on the premises at all 

times during business hours by the Board or its designee, and 

shall retain the notification for the entire term of 

probation. Failure to maintain the written notification as 

defined in the section, or to make the notification available 

for immediate inspection and copying on the premises during 

business hours is a violation of probation. 

27a. Restitution 

Within 90 days of the effective date of this Decision, 

respondent shall provide proof to the BPM or its designee of 

restitution in the amount $_______ paid to ____________. 

Failure to pay restitution shall be considered a violation of 

probation. 

NOTE: In offenses involving economic exploitation, 

restitution is a necessary term of probation. For example, 

restitution would be a standard term in any case involving 

Medi-Cal or other insurance fraud.  The amount of restitution 



  

 

 

 

 

 

 

       

            

         

          

          

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

       

2829.

shall be no less than the amount of money that was 

fraudulently obtained by the licensee.  Evidence relating to 

the amount of restitution would have to be introduced at the 

administrative hearing. 

STANDARD CONDITIONS 

28. Notification 

Prior to engaging in the practice of medicine the respondent 

shall provide a true copy of the Decision(s) and Accusation(s) 

to the Chief of Staff or the Chief Executive Officer at every 

hospital where privileges or membership are extended to 

respondent, at any other facility where respondent engages in 

the practice of podiatric medicine, including all physician 

and locum tenens registries or other similar agencies, and to 

the Chief Executive Officer at every insurance carrier which 

extends malpractice insurance coverage to respondent. 

Respondent shall submit proof of compliance to the Division or 

its designee within 15 calendar days. 

This condition shall apply to any change(s) in hospitals, 

other facilities or insurance carrier. 

29. Physician Assistants and Advanced Practice Nurses 

Prior to receiving assistance from a physician assistant or 

advanced practice nurse, respondent must notify the 

supervising physician of the terms and conditions of his/her 

probation. 

30. Obey All Laws 

Respondent shall obey all federal, state and local laws, all 

rules governing the practice of podiatric medicine in 

California and remain in full compliance with any court 

ordered criminal probation, payments, and other orders. 

31. Quarterly Declarations 

Respondent shall submit quarterly declarations under penalty 

of perjury on forms provided by the Board, stating whether 

there has been compliance with all the conditions of 

probation. Respondent shall submit quarterly declarations not 

later than 10 calendar days after the end of the preceding 

quarter. 

32. Probation Unit Compliance 

Respondent shall comply with the Board’s probation unit. 

Respondent shall, at all times, keep the Board informed of 

respondent’s business and residence addresses. Changes of such 
addresses shall be immediately communicated in writing to the 



 

         

 

 

       

 

 

       

        

  

 

  

 

         

           

 

 

 

  

 

           

     

    

          

           

 

 

           

 

         

 

  

 

 

  

  

 

 

Board or its designee. Under no circumstances shall a post 

office box serve as an address of record, except as allowed by 

Business and Professions Code section 2021(b). 

Respondent shall not engage in the practice of podiatric 

medicine in respondent’s place of residence. Respondent shall, 
maintain a current and renewed California doctor of podiatric 

medicine’s license. 

Respondent shall immediately inform the Board or its designee, 

in writing, of travel to any areas outside the jurisdiction of 

California which lasts, or is contemplated to last, more than 

thirty (30) calendar days. 

33. Interview with the Board or its Designee 

Respondent shall be available in person for interviews either 

at respondent’s place of business or at the probation unit 

office, with the Board or its designee upon request at various 

intervals and either with or without notice throughout the 

term of probation. 

34. Residing or Practicing Out-of-State 

In the event respondent should leave the State of California 

to reside or to practice, respondent shall notify the Board or 

its designee in writing 15 30 calendar days prior to the dates 

of departure and return. Non-practice is defined as any period 

of time exceeding thirty calendar days in which respondent is 

not engaging in any activities defined in section 2472 of the 

Business and Professions Code. 

All time spent in an intensive training program outside the 

State of California which has been approved by the Board or 

its designee shall be considered as time spent in the practice 

of medicine within the State. A Board-ordered suspension of 

practice shall not be considered as a period of non-practice. 

Periods of temporary or permanent residence or practice 

outside, will not apply to the reduction of the probationary 

term. Periods of temporary or permanent residence or practice 

outside California will relieve respondent of the 

responsibility to comply with the probationary terms and 

conditions with the exception of this condition and the 

following terms and conditions of probation: Obey All Laws; 

Probation Unit Compliance; Quarterly Declarations; Abstain 

from the Use of Alcohol and/or Controlled Substances; 

Biological Fluid Testing; and Cost Recovery. 

Respondent’s license is subject to cancellation shall be 

automatically cancelled if respondent’s periods of temporary 
or permanent residence or practice outside California totals 

two years. However, respondent’s license shall not be 

cancelled as long as respondent is residing and practicing 

podiatric medicine in another state of the United States and 

is on active probation with the medical licensing authority 

of that state, in which case the two year period shall begin 



 

 

 

      

            

 

 

   

 

           

  

   

          

          

 

 

 

       

           

 

       

          

 

 

 

  

  

 

 

  

 

  

 

        

     

 

 

  

 

on the date probation is completed or terminated in that 

state. 

(OPTIONAL) 

Any respondent disciplined under B&P Code sections 141(a) or 

2305 may petition for modification or termination of penalty: 

1) if the other state’s discipline terms are modified, 

terminated or reduced; and 2) if at least one year has elapsed 

from the effective date of the California discipline. 

35. Failure to Practice Podiatric Medicine – California Resident 

In the event the respondent resides in the State of California 

and for any reason respondent stops practicing podiatric 

medicine in California, respondent shall notify the Board or 

its designee in writing within 15 30 calendar days prior to 

the dates of non-practice and return to practice.  Any period 

of non-practice within California, as defined in this 

condition, will not apply to the reduction of the probationary 

term and does not relieve respondent of the responsibility to 

comply with the terms and conditions of probation. Non-

practice is defined as any period of time exceeding thirty 

calendar days in which respondent is not engaging in any 

activities defined in section 2472 of the Business and 

Professions Code. 

All time spent in an intensive training program which has been 

approved by the Board or its designee shall be considered time 

spent in the practice of medicine. For purposes of this 

condition, non-practice due to a Board-ordered suspension or 

in compliance with any other condition of probation, shall not 

be considered a period of non-practice, and does not relieve 

respondent from complying with all the terms and conditions of 

probation. 

Respondent’s license shall be automatically cancelled if 

respondent resides Failure to practice while in California 

and for a total of two years, fails to engage in California 

in any of the activities described in Business and 

Professions Code section 2472 shall be a violation of 

probation. If respondent resides in California and is 

considered to be in non-practice, respondent shall comply 

with all terms and conditions of probation. 

36. Completion of Probation 

Respondent shall comply with all financial obligations (e.g., 

cost recovery, restitution, probation costs) not later than 

120 calendar days prior to the completion of probation.  Upon 

successful completion of probation, respondent's certificate 

will be fully restored. 

37. Violation of Probation 

Failure to fully comply with any term or condition of 



        

         

           

 

 

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

      

           

           

 

 

 

   

 

8. Cost Recovery

38. Cost Recovery

probation is a violation of probation. If respondent violates 

probation in any respect, the Board, after giving respondent 

notice and the opportunity to be heard, may revoke probation 

and carry out the disciplinary order that was stayed. If an 

Accusation, or Petition to Revoke Probation, or an Interim 

Suspension Order is filed against respondent during probation, 

the Board shall have continuing jurisdiction until the matter 

is final, and the period of probation shall be extended until 

the matter is final. 

38. Cost Recovery 

Within 90 calendar days from the effective date of the 

Decision or other period agreed to by the Board or its 

designee, respondent shall reimburse the Board the amount of 

$_______ for its investigative and prosecution costs. The 

filing of bankruptcy or period of non-practice by respondent 

shall not relieve the respondent of his/her obligation to 

reimburse the Board for its costs. 

39. License Surrender 

Following the effective date of this Decision, if respondent 

ceases practicing due to retirement, health reasons or is 

otherwise unable to satisfy the terms and conditions of 

probation, respondent may request the voluntary surrender of 

respondent’s license. The Board reserves the right to 

evaluate the respondent’s request and to exercise its 

discretion whether to grant the request, or to take any 

other action deemed appropriate and reasonable under the 

circumstances. Upon formal acceptance of the surrender, 

respondent shall within 15 calendar days deliver 

respondent’s wallet and wall certificate to the Board or its 
designee and respondent shall no longer practice podiatric 

medicine. Respondent will no longer be subject to the terms 

and conditions of probation and the surrender of 

respondent’s license shall be deemed disciplinary action. 

If respondent re-applies for a podiatric medical license, 

the application shall be treated as a petition for 

reinstatement of a revoked certificate. 

40. Probation Monitoring Costs 

Respondent shall pay the costs associated with probation 

monitoring each and every year of probation, as designated by 

the Board, which may be adjusted on an annual basis. Such 

costs shall be payable to the Board of Podiatric Medicine and 

delivered to the Board or its designee within 60 days after 

the start of the new fiscal year. Failure to pay costs within 

30 calendar days of this date is a violation of probation. 

41. Notice to Employees 



     

          

        

 

   

 

 

 

 

  

 

       

        

 

  

Respondent shall, upon or before the effective date of this 

Decision, post or circulate a notice which actually recites 

the offenses for which respondent has been disciplined and the 

terms and conditions of probation, to all employees involved 

in his/her practice. Within fifteen (15) days of the effective 

date of this Decision, respondent shall cause his/her 

employees to report to the BPM in writing, acknowledging the 

employees have read the Accusation and Decision in the case 

and understand respondent’s terms and conditions of probation. 

42. Changes of Employment 

Respondent shall notify the BPM in writing, through the 

assigned probation officer, of any and all changes of 

employment, location, and address within thirty (30) days of 

such change. 

43. Compliance with Required Continuing Medical Education 

Respondent shall submit satisfactory proof biennially to the 

BPM of compliance with the requirement to complete fifty hours 

of approved continuing medical education, and meet continuing 

competence requirements for re-licensure during each two (2) 

year renewal period. 



 
   

   

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

   

 

  

   

 

  

     

    

 

  

   

 

  

   

 

  

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

 

 

DISCIPLINARY GUIDELINES 

B&P Section Index Page No. 

XX 

141(a) Discipline by Another State XX 

651 Misleading Advertising XX 

725 Excessive Prescribing XX 

725 Excessive Treatments XX 

726 Sexual Misconduct XX 

729 Sexual Exploitation XX 

810 Insurance Fraud XX 

820 Mental or Physical Illness XX 

2234 General Unprofessional Conduct XX 

2234(b) Gross Negligence XX 

2234(c) Repeated Negligent Acts XX 

2234(d) Incompetence XX 

2234(e) Dishonesty – Substantially related to the qualifications, XX 
functions or duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine and 

arising from or occurring during patient care, treatment, 

management or billing 

2234(e) Dishonesty – Substantially related to the qualifications, XX 
functions or duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine but 

not arising from or occurring during patient care, 

treatment, management or billing 

2235 Procuring License by Fraud XX 

2236 Conviction of Crime – Substantially related to the XX 

qualifications, functions or duties of a doctor of 

podiatric medicine and arising from or occurring during 

patient care, treatment, management or billing 

2236 Conviction of Crime – Felony conviction substantially XX 
related to the qualifications, functions or duties of a 

doctor of podiatric medicine but not arising from or 

occurring during patient care, treatment, management or 

billing 

2236 Conviction of Crime – Misdemeanor conviction substantially XX 
related to the qualifications, functions or duties of a 

doctor of podiatric medicine but not arising from or 

occurring during patient care, management, treatment or 

billing 

2237 Conviction of Drug Violation XX 

2238 Violation of Drug Statutes XX 

2238 Illegal Sales of Controlled Substances XX 

2239 Excessive Use of Controlled Substances XX 

2239 Excessive Use of Alcohol XX 

2241 Prescribing to Addicts XX 

2242 Prescribing Without a Prior Examination XX 

2261 Making or Signing False Documents XX 

2262 Alteration of Medical Records XX 

2264 Aiding and Abetting Unlicensed Practice XX 

2266 Failure to Maintain Adequate Medical Records XX 

2271 Misleading Advertising XX 

2280 Practice Under the Influence of Narcotic XX 

2280 Practice Under the Influence of Alcohol XX 

2285 Fictitious Name Violation XX 

2288 Impersonation of Applicant in Examination XX 

2305 Discipline by Another State XX 

2306 Practice During Suspension XX 

Violation of Probation 



 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

  

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

    

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

  

  

DISCIPLINE BY ANOTHER STATE [B&P 141(a)&2305] 

Minimum penalty: Same for similar offense in California 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Examination as a condition precedent to practice in California [20] 

MISLEADING ADVERTISING [B&P 651, 2271] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed Revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Ethics course [17] 

2. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

3. Education Course [14] 

4. Monitoring-Practice/Billing [24] 

5. Prohibited Practice [27]  

EXCESSIVE PRESCRIBING [B&P 725] or
 
PRESCRIBING WITHOUT A PRIOR EXAMINATION [B&P 2242]
 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Controlled Substances -	 Total DEA restriction [5] 

Surrender DEA permit [6] or Partial DEA restriction [7] 

2. Clinical Training Program [19] or Examination [20] 

3. Maintain records and Access to Records and inventories [8] 

4. Prescribing Practices Course [15] 

5. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

6. Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 
7. Education course [14] 

8. Ethics course [17] 

9. Medical Record Keeping Course [16] 

EXCESSIVE TREATMENTS [B&P 725] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Clinical Training Program [19] or Examination [20} 

2. Education course [14] 

3. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

4. Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 
5. Ethics course [17] 

6. Prohibited Practice [27] 

7. Medical Record Keeping Course[16] 

SEXUAL MISCONDUCT [B&P 726] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 7 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Psychiatric evaluation and/or psychotherapy [21] [22] 

2. Education course [14] 

3. Ethics course [17] 



  

  

 

  

  

  

 

 

 

          

 

   

   

                

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

   

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Third Party Chaperone [26] 

5. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

6. Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 
7. Professional Boundaries Program [18] 

1. Prohibited Practice[27] 

SEXUAL EXPLOITATION (B&P 729) 

Effective January 1, 2003, Business and Professions Code 2246 was added 

to read, “Any proposed decision or decision issued under this article 

that contains any finding of fact that the licensee engaged in any act 

of sexual exploitation, as described in paragraphs (3) to (5), 

inclusive, of subdivision (b) of Section 729, with a patient shall 

contain an order of revocation. The revocation shall not be stayed by 

the administrative law judge.” 

INSURANCE FRAUD [B&P 810] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum Penalty: Revocation 

1. Ethics course [17] 

2. Restitution to victim [27a] 

3. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

4. Community service program [13] 

MENTAL OR PHYSICAL ILLNESS (B&P 820) 

Minimum penalty: Stayed Revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Rehabilitation Program – Alcohol or Drug [12] 
2. Examination [20] 

3. Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

4. Psychotherapy [22] 

5. Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

6. Monitoring-Practice/Billing [24] 

7. Solo Practice [25] 

8. Prohibited Practice [27] 

GENERAL UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT [B&P 2234], or 

GROSS NEGLIGENCE [B&P 2234(b)] or 

REPEATED NEGLIGENT ACTS [B&P 2234(c)] or 

INCOMPETENCE [B&P 2234(d)] or 

FAILURE TO MAINTAIN ADEQUATE MEDICAL RECORDS [B&P 2266] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Examination [20](preferably Condition Precedent) 

2. Education course [14] 

3. Clinical training program [19] 

4. Monitoring-Practice/billing [24] 

5. Prohibited Practice [27] 

6. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

7. Ethics course [17] 



 

 

  

 
 

 

 

 

  

               

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

  

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

  

  

  

  

 
 

  

 

 

   

 
 

  

 

 

 

              

 

 

  

  

  

8. Prescribing Practices Course [15] 

9. Medical Record Keeping Course [16] 

10.Solo Practice [25] 

DISHONESTY- Substantially related to the qualifications, functions or 

duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine and arising from or occurring 

during patient care, treatment, management or billing [B&P 2234(e)] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, one year suspension, at least 

7 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Ethics course [17] 

2. Examination [20] 

3. Community service [13] 

4. Restitution [27a] 

3. Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

4. Medical Evaluation [23] 

5. Monitoring-Practice/Billing [24] 

6. Solo Practice [25] 

7. Prohibited Practice [27] 

DISHONESTY- Substantially related to the qualifications, functions or 

duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine but not arising from or 

occurring during patient care, treatment, management or billing [B&P 

2234(e)] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed Revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1.	 Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

2.	 Ethics Course [17] 

3.	 Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

4.	 Medical Evaluation [23] 

5.	 Monitoring-Practice/Billing (if financial dishonesty or conviction 

of financial crime) [24] 

6.	 Restitution to Victim [27a] 

PROCURING LICENSE BY FRAUD [B&P 2235] 

Revocation [1] [2] 

CONVICTION OF CRIME – Substantially related to the qualifications, 
functions or duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine and arising from 

or occurring during patient care treatment, management or billing (B&P 

2236) 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, one year suspension, at least 

7 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1.	 Ethics Course [17] 

2.	 Examination [20] 

3.	 Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 



  

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

  

  

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

   

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

    

4.	 Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

5.	 Monitoring-Practice/Billing [24] 

6.	 Solo Practice [25] 

7.	 Prohibited Practice [27] 

CONVICTION OF CRIME – Felony conviction substantially related to the 
qualifications, functions or duties of a doctor of podiatric medicine 

but not arising from or occurring during patient care treatment, 

management or billing (B&P 2236) 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 7 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1.	 Suspension of 30 days or more [4] 

2.	 Ethics Course [17] 

3.	 Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

4.	 Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

5.	 Monitoring- Practice/Billing (if dishonesty or conviction of a 

financial crime) [24] 

6.	 Victim Restitution [27a] 

CONVICTION OF CRIME – Misdemeanor conviction substantially related to 
the qualifications, functions or duties of a doctor of podiatric 

medicine but not arising from or occurring during patient care 

treatment, management or billing (B&P 2236) 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1.	 Ethics Course [17] 

2.	 Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

3.	 Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

4.	 Victim Restitution [27a] 

CONVICTION OF DRUG VIOLATION [B&P 2237], or 

VIOLATION OF DRUG STATUTES [B&P 2238],or 

EXCESSIVE USE OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES [B&P 2239], or 

PRACTICE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF NARCOTIC [B&P 2280] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Examination [20] 

2. Controlled Substances 	– Total DEA restriction [5], Surrender DEA 
permit [6], or Partial DEA restriction [7] 

3. Maintain Drug Records and Access to Records and Inventories [8] 

4. Prescribing Practices Course [15] 

5. Education course [14] 

6. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

7. Rehabilitation Program [12] 

8. Biological Fluid Testing [11] 

2. Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 



 

 

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

   

   

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

  

 

  

  

  

  

   

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

  

  

   

10.Ethics course [17]
 
11.Clinical Training Program [19]
 
12.Controlled Substances – Abstain From Use [9] 

13.Medical Record Keeping Course [16]
 
14.Psychiatric Evaluation [21]
 
15.Psychotherapy [22]
 
16.Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23]
 
17.Prohibited Practice [27] 


ILLEGAL SALES OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES (B&P 2238) 

Revocation [1] [2] 

EXCESSIVE USE OF ALCOHOL [B&P 2239] or
 
PRACTICE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL [B&P 2280] 


Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. 	 Rehabilitation Program [12] 
2. 	 Examination [20] 
3. 	 Biological Fluid Testing [11] 
4. 	 Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 
5. 	 Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 
6. 	 Ethics Course [17] 
7. Controlled Substances – Abstain From Use [9] 
8. Alcohol- Abstain From Use [10] 

9. Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

10. Psychotherapy [22] 

11. Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

PRESCRIBING TO ADDICTS [B&P 2241] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1.	 Controlled Substances - Total DEA restriction [5] 

Surrender DEA permit [6] or Partial restriction [7] 

2.	 Maintain Drug Records and Access to Records and Inventories [8] 

3.	 Prescribing practices course [15] 

4.	 Examination [20] 

5.	 Education course [14] 

6.	 Clinical Training Program [19] 

7.	 Monitoring- Practice/Billing [24] 

8.	 Ethics Course [17] 

9.	 Medical Record Keeping Course [16] 

10. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

11. Prohibited Practice [27] 

MAKING OR SIGNING FALSE DOCUMENTS [B&P 2261], or
 
ALTERATION OF MEDICAL RECORDS [B&P 2262]
 

Minimum penalty:  Stayed revocation, 3 5 years probation
 
Maximum penalty: Revocation
 

1. 	 Ethics course [17} 
2.	 Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

3.	 Medical Record Keeping Course [16] 

4.	 If fraud involved, see “Dishonesty” guidelines 



 
 

 

  

 

 

 

  

  

  

  

   

  

 

  

  

 

 

 

  

 
 

 

 
 

   

 

 

 

 

  

 

  

 

 

  

     

  

 

  

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

AIDING AND ABETTING UNLICENSED PRACTICE [B&P 2264] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, 5 years probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

1. Suspension of 60 days or more [4] 

2. Education Course [14] 

3. Ethics Course [17] 

4. Examination [20] 

5. Monitoring – Practice/Billing [24] 
6. Prohibited Practice [27] 

FICTITIOUS NAME VIOLATION [B&P 2285] 

Minimum penalty: Stayed revocation, one year probation 

Maximum penalty: Revocation 

IMPERSONATION OF APPLICANT IN EXAMINATION [B&P 2288] 

1. Revocation [1] [2] 

PRACTICE DURING SUSPENSION [B&P 2306] 

1. Revocation [1] [2] 

VIOLATION OF PROBATION 

Minimum penalty: 30 day suspension Impose actual period of 

suspension 

Maximum penalty: Revocation Impose penalty that was stayed 

The maximum penalty should be given for repeated similar offenses 

or for probation violations revealing a cavalier or recalcitrant 

attitude. A violation of any of the following conditions of 

probation Other violations of probation should result in, draw at 

minimum, a 60 day least a period of actual suspension:, 

preferably 90 days or more. 

1. Controlled Substances – Maintain Records and Access to 
Records and Inventories [8] 

2. Biological Fluid Testing [11] 

3. Professional Boundaries Program [18] 

4. Psychiatric Evaluation [21] 

5. Psychotherapy [22] 

6. Medical Evaluation and Treatment [23] 

7. Third Party Chaperone [26]
 

It is the expectation of the Board of Podiatric Medicine that the
 
appropriate penalty for a doctor of podiatric medicine who did 

not successfully complete a clinical training program ordered as 

part of his or her probation is revocation. 
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AGREEMENT TO MONITOR PRACTICE AND/OR BILLING 

 

 

 

Introduction 
 

The role of the practice and/or billing monitor (Monitor) is to ensure, to the extent 

possible, that the Probationer will conduct his/her practice with safety to the public 

and in a competent manner.  The Monitor is responsible for reporting to the Board 

of Podiatric Medicine (Board) any identified problems or deficiencies in the quality 

of the Probationer’s patient care, billing practices, medical record keeping, and/or 

professional conduct.  The Monitor also fulfills the role of an educator and advisor 

to the Probationer, with the goal of assisting the Probationer to improve clinical 

skills and gain insight into practices that led to disciplinary action, so that learning 

and rehabilitation will occur.  In order to provide this type of objective oversight, 

the Monitor must not have any prior or current business, personal, or other 

relationship with the Probationer that could reasonably be expected to compromise 

the ability of the Monitor to render fair and unbiased reports to the Board. 
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AGREEMENT 

I, ________________________________, D.P.M., “Monitor”, hereby agree to monitor the medical and/or billing 

practice of _____________________________, D.P.M., “Probationer.” 

•I have received and have read a copy of the Accusation and Decision regarding the Probationer. 

•I clearly understand the role of a Monitor and what is expected of me. 

•I have no prior or current business, personal or other relationship with the Probationer that could reasonably be 

expected to compromise my ability to render fair and unbiased reports to the Board. 

•I understand that the Probationer is responsible for all costs associated with the monitoring of his/her practice, 

and that the Board does not set these costs. I am not being compensated for my services by any form of bartering 

arrangement with the Probationer. 

•I have reviewed the Monitoring Plan and (check one): 

Agree to monitor the Probationer as specified in the Plan. 

I am submitting a revised Monitoring Plan for approval by the assigned Investigator. I understand that 

the Investigator may reject my proposed revisions, in which case I may either decline to monitor the 

Probationer’s practice, or submit a new proposed Monitoring Plan that is acceptable to the assigned 

Investigator. 

•I agree to regularly submit written reports to the assigned Investigator regarding my review of the Probationer’s 

practice. The due dates and required content of these reports is detailed in the Monitoring Plan. 

•If I am no longer able or willing to continue to monitor the Probationer’s practice, I agree to immediately notify 

the assigned Investigator. 

Executed on___________________________________________________________________, 200______, at 

________________________________________ _______________________________________, California. 

(City) (County) 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 

correct. 

____________________________________________ _____________________________________________ 

Monitor (Print Name) Signature 

I have no prior or current business, personal or other relationship with (insert Monitor’s name) that could reasonably 

be expected to compromise the (insert Monitor’s name) ability to render fair and unbiased reports to the Board. I have 

agreed to compensate the monitor at the rate of $_______ per hour for all work performed in executing the duties of 

monitor. 

Executed on____________________________________________________________________, 200_______, 

at _____________________________________ _________________________________________,California. 

(City) (County) 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and 

correct. 

__________________________________________ _____________________________________________ 

Probationer (Print Name) Signature 
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